Changes to the California law are made through legislation and regulation. Those affecting the Board of Behavioral Sciences (Board) and its licensees can be viewed below.
- Pending Regulation
- Approved Regulation (Includes Previous Years)
- How to Participate in the Rulemaking Process
2017 Board Statutes and Regulations (Download)
Complete current sections of the California Business and Professions Code (BPC), Family Code (FAM), Health and Safety Code (HSC), Penal Code (PEN), Welfare and Institutions Code (WIC), and the California Code of Regulations (CCR), relevant to the Board.
Highlights for 2017:
All changes become effective January 1, 2017, unless otherwise noted
- LMFT Out-of-State Educational Requirements (BPC §4980.81):
Applicants shall meet (each of) the following educational requirements:
1) A minimum of two semester units of instruction in the diagnosis, assessment, prognosis, and treatment of mental disorders, including severe mental disorders, evidence-based practices, and promising mental health practices that are evaluated in peer reviewed literature.
2) At least one semester unit or 15 hours of instruction in psychological testing AND at least one semester unit or 15 hours of instruction in psychopharmacology.
- LPCC Core Content Areas (AB 1917):
No applicant shall be deficient (prohibits remediation outside of the applicant’s qualifying degree program) in the required core content areas of:
1) Assessment, appraisal, and testing of individuals, as specified.
2) Principles of the diagnostic process and the use of diagnostic tools, as specified.
- LPCC Treatment of Couples and Families (CCR §1820.7):
LPCCs shall obtain Board confirmation of qualifications to treat couples and families, and shall provide a copy of this confirmation to:
1) Couple or family clients prior to commencement of treatment.
2) A marriage and family therapist intern or trainee prior to commencement of supervision.
3) Another LPCC or PCC intern gaining supervised experience to comply with requirements to treat couples or families prior to commencement of supervision.
- Subsequent Registration Associates and Interns (BPC: ASW: §4992.09(f),(g); IMF: §4980.39(f),(g); PCCI: §4999.55(f),(g))
Applicants who obtained a subsequent (2nd or 3rd) ASW, IMF, or PCCI registration anytime during 2016, must pass the California Law and Ethics Exam, in order to renew their registration in 2017.
In addition, on or after January 1, 2017, applicants for subsequent ASW, IMF, or PCCI registration must pass the California Law and Ethics Exam, before a subsequent registration may be issued.