ALERT: Effective January 1, 2018, the titles for Marriage and Family Therapist Interns, and Professional Clinical Counselor Interns will change. More Information

StopSTOP

Please read carefully, before proceeding to the application at the bottom:

APPLICATION FOR RE-EXAMINATION

INSTRUCTIONS AND IMPORTANT INFORMATION

FEE:

A $100 fee must accompany your Application for Re-Examination. Make your check payable to “Behavioral Sciences Fund.”

TO CONFIRM YOUR APPLICATION WAS RECEIVED:

To confirm receipt, mail your application using a method that includes tracking.

HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE FOR THE BOARD TO PROCESS MY APPLICATION?

Allow 4-6 weeks for processing. Please do not contact the Board to check on the status unless your application has been on file for 45 or more days and the waiting period listed below has passed.

After the Board processes your Application for Re-Examination (and the waiting period has passed), you will receive a Candidate Handbook in the mail and/or an email notifying you of your eligibility from PSI, the Board’s testing vendor. You may contact PSI to schedule your exam once you receive the handbook or email. Candidates should not attempt to schedule an examination date with PSI until they receive notification of eligibility.

WHAT IS THE WAITING PERIOD BETWEEN RETAKES?
  • California Law and Ethics Exam: 90-day waiting period
  • Clinical Exam: 120-day waiting period
  • LEP Exam: 180-day waiting period
12-HOUR CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS COURSE:

If you hold a current or delinquent intern or associate registration, and weren’t able to pass the Law and Ethics Exam prior to your registration’s expiration date, you must attach proof of completing a 12-hour course on California Law and Ethics in order to regain eligibility to take the Law and Ethics Exam during your next renewal cycle. The course must be taken through an acceptable continuing education provider, a governmental entity, or a college or university.

YOUR ADDRESS IS PUBLIC INFORMATION:

The address you enter on this application is public information and will be placed on the Department of Consumer Affairs’ website pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 27. If you don’t want your home or work address available to the public, use an alternate mailing address.

YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS:

While providing your email address is optional, the Board strongly recommends submission as it will allow the Board’s testing vendor, PSI, to provide you with faster notification that you are eligible to schedule your examination.

EXPEDITED PROCESSING – MILITARY SPOUSE/PARTNER AND HONORABLY DISCHARGED VETERANS ONLY:

The Board is required to expedite the licensure process for (1) an applicant who is a honorably discharged veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces or (2) an applicant whose spouse or partner is an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces and meets other criteria pursuant to Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 115.5. Download the Military Veteran Expedite Request or Military Spouse/Domestic Partner Expedite Request, and include it ON TOP OF your Application for Re-Examination.

TESTING ACCOMMODATIONS:

Reasonable accommodations will be provided to candidates who have a qualifying disability or medical condition. All exam sites are physically accessible to individuals with disabilities. All other accommodations require pre-approval. A Request for Accommodation packet must be received a minimum of 90 days prior to the desired test date.

LAW AND ETHICS EXAM - IMPACT ON REGISTRATION RENEWAL:

Registrants Must Take the California Law and Ethics Exam to Renew

You are required to take the California Law and Ethics Exam for the license type you are pursuing while a registrant in order to renew (unless you have already passed the California Law and Ethics Exam). Your registration will not be renewable until you have taken the required exam.

Passing Score Required for Issuance of a Subsequent Registration

Applicants cannot be issued a subsequent ASW, MFT or PCC Intern registration (second or third number, etc.) without first passing the California Law and Ethics Exam (Note: Applicants who have already passed the Standard Written exam do not have to pass the Law and Ethics exam unless it has been more than seven (7) years since they passed the Standard Written).

ABANDONMENT OF APPLICATION:

In accordance with Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 1806, your file will be deemed abandoned if:

  • You fail to sit for the examination within one (1) year after being notified of eligibility to take the examination;
  • You fail to sit for the clinical examination within one (1) year of being notified of passing the law and ethics examination; or,
  • You fail to retake an exam within one (1) year from the date you were notified of failing the examination.

To reopen an abandoned file you must submit a new application, fee and all required documentation, as well as meet all current requirements in effect at the time the new application is submitted.

Acknowledgment:
I have read and understand the above instructions and information.