



1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S-200 Sacramento, CA 95834 (916) 574-7830, (916) 574-8625 Fax www.bbs.ca.gov

To: Workforce Committee Members Date: January 15, 2025

From: Rosanne Helms

Legislative Manager

Subject: Discussion of Potential Restructuring of the Pathway to LCSW, LMFT

and LPCC Licensure

#### Background

At previous meetings, this Committee discussed several possible adjustments to the licensing process in an effort to reduce barriers to licensure. Options discussed included the following:

- Adjust timing of the Clinical Exam (allowing it to be taken earlier in the licensing process)
- Adjust timing of the California Law and Ethics Exam (allowing it to be taken anytime during registration)
- Set age limit for the California Law and Ethics Exam (7 years)
- Change Registration Number Length and Time Supervised Experience Hours Valid (from 6 years to 7 years)
- Add an Exception to the Prohibition on Working in a Private Practice with a Subsequent Registration Number (a one-time, two-year extension valid in one practice setting)

Today's proposal continues to be an ongoing draft, and staff will likely need to conduct research and consult with the Examination Unit, Licensing Unit, and Legal Counsel for advice on the proposal's feasibility as it continues to evolve.

Since the last Committee meeting, discussions with the Examination Unit and the Licensing Unit have raised concerns about implementing the part of the proposal that would allow the clinical exam to be taken early, as the Board may be transitioning to the AMFTRB national examination for LMFT licensure at around same time.

Transitioning to a national examination and allowing the clinical exam to be taken earlier are significant changes to the examination process. Concerns have been raised about implementing both changes simultaneously, as this could lead to confusion for applicants and create complications in reprogramming the Breeze system, which would require extensive modifications to support both proposals.

## **Proposed Next Steps**

To achieve a smooth implementation and avoid confusion, staff recommends a phased approach where the changes discussed at the previous Committee meeting, along with the transition to the AMFTRB national examination, are completed in three phases, instead of all at once. In the first phase, changes mostly unrelated to the examination process would be made. The second phase would be the transition to the AMFTRB national exam as the LMFT clinical exam. In the third and final phase, the Board would change the timing of its clinical examinations to allow them to be taken earlier. To summarize:

- Phase 1: General Licensing Process Changes
- Phase 2: Adoption of the AMFTRB National Exam as the LMFT Clinical Exam
- Phase 3: Allow Clinical Exams to be Taken Earlier

## **Phase 1: General Licensing Process Changes**

The following changes (shown today in **Attachment A**) are proposed as Phase 1:

- a. Timing of the California Law and Ethics Exam: Allow associates to choose when they take the California law and ethics exam. Currently, associates must attempt the California law and ethics exam every year as a condition of their registration renewal, until the exam is passed. Additionally, this exam must be passed before a subsequent number (or licensure) is obtained. Under the proposal, associates would take the exam when they are ready. It would not be required to be attempted every year. (However, it still must be passed before a subsequent registration number is issued, and also before eligibility to take the clinical exam is granted.) Making this change would prevent delays with registration renewal if the associate forgot or was unable to take the exam that year. Given the relatively new requirement that associates must now complete 3 hours of continuing education covering California law and ethics each year (which became effective in 2023), staff believes public protection is maintained.
- b. Age Limit for the California Law and Ethics Exam: This proposal places an age limit of 7 years on a passing score for the California Law and Ethics Exam. Currently there is no age limit on the California law and ethics exam score the Board will accept, although current law specifies a 7-year age limit on the clinical exam passing score. Not having an age limit on this exam score will have public protection implications the longer the California law and ethics exam has been offered (it has been offered since 2016), as the Board currently must accept all scores regardless of age. Placing a limit on the age of the California law and ethics exam score has the following implications:
  - To obtain a subsequent registration number, the California law and ethics exam must have been passed with a score no more than 7 years old. This would include second (or third, etc.) subsequent registration numbers,

meaning the exam must be passed again for each subsequent registration if the score at the time of application is more than 7 years old.

- In addition, when applying for licensure, the California law and ethics exam score must be no more than 7 years old.
- c. Change in Registration Number Length and Time Supervised Experience Hours Valid: This proposal extends the allowable length of time a registration number is valid from 6 years to 7 years. It also extends the amount of time supervised experience hours are valid from 6 years to 7 years.

Making this change allows applicants an additional year if they need to take a break while gaining experience hours due to life events or circumstances, which is a common issue brought up by those who experience hardship during the licensure process. It will also align the allowable age of experience hours with the allowable clinical and law and ethics exam score ages (both 7 years), providing a simpler process when the Board eventually transitions to allowing the clinical exam to be taken early (Under that eventual scenario, instead of "locking hours" upon clinical exam eligibility, all experience hours <u>and</u> exam scores would need to be no more than 7 years old when applying for licensure.)

Note: Research regarding allowable age of experience hours in other states is shown in **Attachment B**.

d. Add an Exception to the Prohibition on Working in a Private Practice with a Subsequent Registration Number: The proposal makes a change to the "six-year rule" that prohibits an associate from working in a private practice with a subsequent registration number. Under the proposal, the law would continue to prohibit associates with a subsequent associate number from working in a private practice generally. However, it would permit an associate with a subsequent registration number to request a one-time, two-year hardship extension. With this extension, they may finish gaining their experience hours in one private practice setting, if the supervisor or employer and the associate submit a request to the board providing specified information.

The Board has discussed the prohibition on private practice with a subsequent registration numerous times, most recently in August 2022. It is often requested as a discussion topic because it can cause hardship to those individuals who, due to unforeseen circumstances, need a subsequent registration number to finish gaining their experience hours and who already have a job in a private practice. At the August 2022 meeting, the possibility of removing the prohibition on private practice with a subsequent registration number was discussed. However, due to concerns about potential exploitation of associates, there was not support from the Board or stakeholders for its removal. Today's proposal offers a more limited approach that could apply for a limited time in instances of hardship.

- **e.** <u>Technical Clean-Up Changes:</u> These changes entail making minor, technical clean-up changes, including the following:
  - Deleting BPC §4980.398 (transition scenarios from the 2016 exam restructure) as that section is no longer needed.)
  - Delete the exam rescoring fee in BPC §4984.7. Exams are now scored electronically, not manually, and therefore this subdivision is obsolete.
  - Amends BPC §§ 4980.397(c) and 4980.50(h) to clarify that the Board may accept a passing clinical exam score obtained early from another state. While the Board cannot grant clinical exam eligibility before all educational requirements, the California law and ethics exam, and all experience hours are completed, some other states allow applicants to take the clinical exam earlier (e.g., upon graduation). If an applicant subsequently applies to the Board with a passing clinical exam score from another state, the current statute is unclear about whether that score can be accepted. The proposed amendments will clarify that such a score is indeed acceptable.

#### Phase 2: Adoption of the AMFTRB National Exam as the LMFT Clinical Exam

(Note: Phase 1 and Phase 2 are independent of each other and can be carried out in any order the Board determines or can be done simultaneously.)

The next phase, the adoption of the AMFTRB national exam as the clinical exam for LMFT licensure, is already being discussed separately by the Board. The Board is currently pursuing legislation to allow for the possibility of accepting this exam, and the final step in pursuing it will be developing and obtaining approved regulations to make the change.

This will represent a significant change to the examination process. Transition from a Board-administered clinical exam to a national exam will need to be done carefully so as not to adversely affect applicants in the examination process. Additionally, numerous changes to the Board's Breeze system, as well as AMFTRB's exam process, will need to be made to ensure a smooth transition. For this reason, staff recommends that Phase 3 not be pursued until adoption and implementation of the AMFTRB national exam is successfully in place.

## Phase 3: Allow Clinical Exams to be Taken Earlier

This phase of the proposal would change the timing of the clinical exam for LMFT, LCSW, and LPCC licensure, permitting that exam to be taken as a registrant once an applicant has completed 875 hours of supervised experience performing direct clinical counseling. (This equates to half of the 1,750 direct clinical counseling experience hours required for licensure.)

The following additional modifications to the licensing process would be necessary to implement this change:

Under this proposal, the requirement in regulations (§1806) that an applicant
must attempt the clinical exam every year to avoid abandoning the application
would need to be deleted, as it would no longer be feasible to require it. Under
current law, once an applicant is granted eligibility to take the clinical exam, the
hours are "locked in" and are no longer subject to the aging requirement as long
as the clinical exam is attempted every year until passed.

Instead of "locking in" hours indefinitely regardless of age once eligibility for the clinical exam is obtained (as long as the exam attempted every year), under this proposal, hours would expire gradually as they became 7 years old. This approach would eliminate the problem of an applicant who is in the exam cycle for many years with very old hours losing all hours suddenly if they forget to take the exam yearly. However, on the flip side, an applicant could no longer "lock" hours indefinitely and would need to make sure that their hours were not expired. An applicant who is unable to pass the clinical exam within 7 years could avoid losing hours by maintaining their associate registration and continuing to work under all supervision requirements (continually gaining qualifying hours). The Board would likely need to build in a carve out or grace period for those who are already clinical exam eligible and have older hours that are "locked in".

- An applicant would be able to choose whether to take the clinical exam or the law and ethics exam first. Passage of the law and ethics exam would no longer be a prerequisite to taking the clinical exam.
- All 875 qualifying experience hours would need to be less than 7 years old at the time of application for the clinical exam. All education requirements for registration and licensure would also need to be met before taking the clinical exam.
- There would be a change to the requirement to apply for final licensure: Under the proposal, upon application for license issuance, the applicant's experience hours, clinical exam score, and California law and ethics score all must be no more than 7 years old.
- The "application for examination" and "application for licensure" references in law would need to be renamed to align with the new requirements.
- The allowance for lessened weekly supervision once all experience hours are gained would need to be deleted. (Applicants will need full supervision even when they believe they are done gaining experience hours, to avoid having any earned hours not qualify.)

## **Recommendation**

Conduct an open discussion about the three proposed phases, and about the proposed language for Phase 1 shown in **Attachment A** (currently drafted for LMFT only; once that language is agreed upon it will be drafted for LCSW and LPCC). Direct staff to conduct any research the Committee requires, and to make any requested amendments, and to bring the proposal back to the next Committee meeting.

## **Attachments**

**Attachment A:** Proposed Amendments for Phase 1(*LMFT Only*)

**Attachment B:** Research: Experience Requirements in Other States

#### **ATTACHMENT A**

## **Licensure Pathway Restructuring - Phase 1 - Proposed Amendments**

Note: This is currently drafted for LMFT only. Once the specifics have been agreed upon, similar language will be drafted for the other license types.

## LICENSED MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS (LMFTs)

## Business and Professions Code (BPC) §4980.397.

- (a) A registrant or an applicant for licensure as a marriage and family therapist shall pass the following two examinations as prescribed by the board:
  - (1) A California law and ethics examination.
  - (2) A clinical examination.
- (b) Upon <u>issuance of a registration</u> with the board, an associate marriage and family therapist shall, within the first year of registration, take an examination on California law and ethics. be eligible to take California law and ethics examination.
- (c) <u>The board may grant A registrant or an applicant for licensure may take eligibility to take</u> the clinical examination only upon meeting all of the following requirements:
  - (1) Completion of all required supervised work experience.
  - (2) Completion of all education requirements.
  - (3) Passage of the California law and ethics examination.

#### BPC §4980.398.

- (a) Each applicant who had previously taken and passed the standard written examination but had not passed the clinical vignette examination shall also obtain a passing score on the clinical examination in order to be eligible for licensure.
- (b) An applicant who had previously failed to obtain a passing score on the standard written examination shall obtain a passing score on the California law and ethics examination and the clinical examination.
- (c) An applicant who had obtained eligibility for the standard written examination shall take the California law and ethics examination and the clinical examination.
- (d) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016.

### BPC §4980.399.

- (a) Except as provided in subdivision (a) of Section 4980.398, each Each applicant and registrant shall obtain a passing score on a board-administered California law and ethics examination in order to qualify for licensure. A passing score on the California law and ethics examination shall be accepted by the board for a period of seven years from the date the examination was passed.
- (b) A registrant shall participate in a board-administered California law and ethics examination before their registration renewal.
- (c) If an applicant fails the California law and ethics examination, they may retake the examination <u>after any waiting period as specified in regulation</u>, upon payment of the required fees, <u>without further application</u>. <u>and submission of a re-examination</u> application.
- (d) The board shall not issue a subsequent registration number unless the applicant has passed the California law and ethics examination and the passing score is no more than seven years old from the date the examination was passed.
- (e) A registrant shall complete a minimum of three hours of continuing education on the subject of California law and ethics during each renewal period to be eligible to renew their registration, regardless of whether they have passed the California law and ethics examination. The coursework shall be obtained from a board-accepted provider of continuing education, as specified in Section 4980.54.

#### BPC §4980.40.

An applicant for licensure shall satisfy all of the following qualifications:

- (a) Meet the educational requirements of Section 4980.36 or both Sections 4980.37 and 4980.41, as applicable.
- (b) Be at least 18 years of age.
- (c) Have at least two years of supervised experience as specified in this chapter and its corresponding regulations.
- (d) Successfully pass a California law and ethics examination and a clinical examination. An applicant who has successfully passed a previously administered written examination may be subsequently required to take and pass another written

examination. The passing score on each exam shall have been obtained no more than seven years from the date of each exam.

(e) Not be subject to denial of licensure under Section 480. The board shall not issue a registration or license to any person who has been convicted of a crime in this or another state or in a territory of the United States that involves sexual abuse of children or who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 of the Penal Code or the equivalent in another state or territory, in accordance with Section 480.

### BPC §4980.41.

- (a) An applicant for licensure whose education qualifies him or herthem under Section 4980.37 shall complete the following coursework or training in order to be eligible to sit for the licensing examinations as specified in subdivision (d) of Section 4980.40:
- (1) A two semester or three quarter unit course in California law and professional ethics for marriage and family therapists, which shall include, but not be limited to, the following areas of study:
- (A) Contemporary professional ethics and statutory, regulatory, and decisional laws that delineate the profession's scope of practice.
- (B) The therapeutic, clinical, and practical considerations involved in the legal and ethical practice of marriage and family therapy, including family law.
- (C) The current legal patterns and trends in the mental health profession.
- (D) The psychotherapist-patient privilege, confidentiality, the patient dangerous to self or others, and the treatment of minors with and without parental consent.
- (E) A recognition and exploration of the relationship between a practitioner's sense of self and human values and his or hertheir professional behavior and ethics.

This course may be considered as part of the 48 semester or 72 quarter unit requirements contained in Section 4980.37.

- (2) A minimum of seven contact hours of training or coursework in child abuse assessment and reporting as specified in Section 28 and any regulations promulgated thereunder.
- (3) A minimum of 10 contact hours of training or coursework in human sexuality as specified in Section 25, and any regulations promulgated thereunder. When coursework in a master's or doctor's degree program is acquired to satisfy this requirement, it shall

be considered as part of the 48 semester or 72 quarter unit requirement contained in Section 4980.37.

- (4) For persons who began graduate study on or after January 1, 1986, a master's or doctor's degree qualifying for licensure shall include specific instruction in alcoholism and other chemical substance dependency as specified by regulation. When coursework in a master's or doctor's degree program is acquired to satisfy this requirement, it shall be considered as part of the 48 semester or 72 quarter unit requirement contained in Section 4980.37. Coursework required under this paragraph may be satisfactory if taken either in fulfillment of other educational requirements for licensure or in a separate course. The applicant may satisfy this requirement by successfully completing this coursework from a master's or doctoral degree program at an accredited or approved institution, as described in subdivision (b) of Section 4980.37, or from a board-accepted provider of continuing education, as described in Section 4980.54.
- (5) For persons who began graduate study during the period commencing on January 1, 1995, and ending on December 31, 2003, a master's or doctor's degree qualifying for licensure shall include coursework in spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection, and intervention. For persons who began graduate study on or after January 1, 2004, a master's or doctor's degree qualifying for licensure shall include a minimum of 15 contact hours of coursework in spousal or partner abuse assessment, detection, and intervention strategies, including knowledge of community resources, cultural factors, and same gender abuse dynamics. Coursework required under this paragraph may be satisfactory if taken either in fulfillment of other educational requirements for licensure or in a separate course. The applicant may satisfy this requirement by successfully completing this coursework from a master's or doctoral degree program at an accredited or approved institution, as described in subdivision (b) of Section 4980.37, or from a board-accepted provider of continuing education, as described in Section 4980.54.
- (6) For persons who began graduate study on or after January 1, 2001, an applicant shall complete a minimum of a two semester or three quarter unit survey course in psychological testing. When coursework in a master's or doctor's degree program is acquired to satisfy this requirement, it may be considered as part of the 48 semester or 72 quarter unit requirement of Section 4980.37.
- (7) For persons who began graduate study on or after January 1, 2001, an applicant shall complete a minimum of a two semester or three quarter unit survey course in psychopharmacology. When coursework in a master's or doctor's degree program is acquired to satisfy this requirement, it may be considered as part of the 48 semester or 72 quarter unit requirement of Section 4980.37.

(b) The requirements added by paragraphs (6) and (7) of subdivision (a) are intended to improve the educational qualifications for licensure in order to better prepare future licentiates for practice and are not intended in any way to expand or restrict the scope of practice for licensed marriage and family therapists.

### BPC §4980.43.

- (a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), all applicants shall have an active associate registration with the board in order to gain postdegree hours of supervised experience.
- (b) (1) Postdegree hours of experience gained before the issuance of an associate registration shall be credited toward licensure if all of the following apply:
- (A) The registration applicant applies for the associate registration and the board receives the application within 90 days of the granting of the qualifying master's degree or doctoral degree.
- (B) For applicants completing graduate study on or after January 1, 2020, the experience is obtained at a workplace that, prior to the registration applicant gaining supervised experience hours, requires completed Live Scan fingerprinting. The applicant shall provide the board with a copy of that completed State of California "Request for Live Scan Service" form with the application for licensure.
- (C) The board subsequently grants the associate registration.
- (2) The applicant shall not be employed or volunteer in a private practice or a professional corporation until the applicant has been issued an associate registration by the board.
- (c) Supervised experience that is obtained for purposes of qualifying for licensure shall be related to the practice of marriage and family therapy and comply with the following:
- (1) A minimum of 3,000 hours completed during a period of at least 104 weeks.
- (2) A maximum of 40 hours in any seven consecutive days.
- (3) A minimum of 1,700 hours obtained after the qualifying master's or doctoral degree was awarded.
- (4) A maximum of 1,300 hours obtained prior to the award date of the qualifying master's or doctoral degree.

- (5) A maximum of 750 hours of counseling and direct supervisor contact prior to the award date of the qualifying master's or doctoral degree.
- (6) Hours of experience shall not be gained prior to completing either 12 semester units or 18 quarter units of graduate instruction.
- (7) Hours of experience shall not have been gained more than sixseven years prior to the date the application for licensure was received by the board, except that up to 500 hours of clinical experience gained in the supervised practicum required by subdivision (c) of Section 4980.37 and subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) of Section 4980.36 shall be exempt from this sixseven-year requirement.
- (8) A minimum of 1,750 hours of direct clinical counseling with individuals, groups, couples, or families, that includes not less than 500 total hours of experience in diagnosing and treating couples, families, and children.
- (9) A maximum of 1,200 hours gained under the supervision of a licensed educational psychologist providing educationally related mental health services that are consistent with the scope of practice of an educational psychologist, as specified in Section 4989.14.
- (10) A maximum of 1,250 hours of nonclinical practice, consisting of direct supervisor contact, administering and evaluating psychological tests, writing clinical reports, writing progress or process notes, client-centered advocacy, and workshops, seminars, training sessions, or conferences directly related to marriage and family therapy that have been approved by the applicant's supervisor.
- (11) It is anticipated and encouraged that hours of experience will include working with elders and dependent adults who have physical or mental limitations that restrict their ability to carry out normal activities or protect their rights.

This subdivision shall only apply to hours gained on and after January 1, 2010.

(d) An individual who submits an application for licensure between January 1, 2016, and December 31, 2020, may alternatively qualify under the experience requirements of this section that were in place on January 1, 2015.

#### BPC §4980.50.

(a) Every applicant who meets the educational and experience requirements and applies for a license as a marriage and family therapist shall be examined by the board. The examinations shall be as set forth in subdivision (d) of Section 4980.40. The examinations shall be given at least twice a year at a time and place and under

supervision as the board may determine. The board shall examine the candidate with regard to the candidate's knowledge and professional skills and judgment in the utilization of appropriate techniques and methods.

- (b) The board shall not deny any applicant who has submitted a complete application for examination, admission to the licensure examinations required by this section if the applicant meets the educational and experience requirements of this chapter, and has not committed any acts or engaged in any conduct that would constitute grounds to deny licensure.
- (c) The board shall not deny any applicant, whose application for licensure is complete, admission to the clinical examination, nor shall the board postpone or delay any applicant's clinical examination, solely upon the receipt by the board of a complaint alleging acts or conduct that would constitute grounds to deny licensure.
- (d) If an applicant for examination who has passed the California law and ethics examination is the subject of a complaint or is under board investigation for acts or conduct that, if proven to be true, would constitute grounds for the board to deny licensure, the board shall permit the applicant to take the clinical examination for licensure, but may notify the applicant that licensure will not be granted pending completion of the investigation.
- (e) Notwithstanding Section 135, the board may deny any applicant who has previously failed either the California law and ethics examination or the clinical examination permission to retake either examination pending completion of the investigation of any complaints against the applicant. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the board from denying an applicant admission to any examination or refusing to issue a license to any applicant when an accusation or statement of issues has been filed against the applicant pursuant to Sections 11503 and 11504 of the Government Code, respectively, or the applicant has been denied in accordance with subdivision (b) of Section 485.
- (f) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the board may destroy all examination materials two years following the date of an examination.
- (g) An applicant for licensure shall not be eligible to participate in the clinical examination if the applicant fails to obtain a passing score on the clinical examination within seven years from their initial attempt, unless the applicant takes and obtains a passing score on the current version of the California law and ethics examination.
- (h) A <u>Notwithstanding section 4980.397</u>, a passing score on the clinical examination shall be accepted by the board for a period of seven years from the date the examination was <u>taken</u>passed.
- (i) An applicant for licensure who has qualified pursuant to this chapter shall be issued a license as a marriage and family therapist in the form that the board deems appropriate.

### BPC §4984.01.

(a) The associate marriage and family therapist registration shall expire one year from the last day of the month in which it was issued.

- (b) To renew the registration, the registrant shall, on or before the expiration date of the registration, complete all of the following actions:
- (1) Apply for renewal on a form prescribed by the board.
- (2) Pay a renewal fee prescribed by the board.
- (3) Participate in the California law and ethics examination pursuant to Section 4980.399 each year until successful completion of this examination.
- (43) Notify the board whether they have been convicted, as defined in Section 490, of a misdemeanor or felony, and whether any disciplinary action has been taken against them by a regulatory or licensing board in this or any other state subsequent to the last renewal of the registration.
- (54) Certify under penalty of perjury their compliance with the continuing education requirements set forth in Section 4980.54.
- (c) An expired registration may be renewed by completing all of the actions described in paragraphs (1) to (54), inclusive, of subdivision (b).
- (d) The registration may be renewed a maximum of fivesix times. No registration shall be renewed or reinstated beyond sixseven years from the last day of the month during which it was issued, regardless of whether it has been revoked. When no further renewals are possible, an applicant may apply for and obtain a subsequent associate registration number if the applicant meets the educational requirements for a subsequent associate registration number and has passed a passing score on the California law and ethics examination that is no more than seven years old at the time the application for the subsequent associate registration number is received by the board. An applicant who is issued a subsequent associate registration number pursuant to this subdivision shall not be employed or volunteer in a private practice.
- (e) Notwithstanding subdivision (d), an applicant applying for or who currently holds a subsequent associate registration number may request that the Board grant them a one-time, two-year hardship extension to allow them to be employed or volunteer at one private practice or professional corporation work setting. An associate shall not be issued more than one extension, and the extension is only valid for the one private practice or professional corporation work setting for which it is requested. In order to be granted the extension, the associate, the supervisor, and if the supervisor is not employed by the supervisee's employer or is a volunteer, a representative of the employer must submit a jointly signed statement containing the following:

- (a) The name of the work setting where the associate will be gaining hours;
- (b) That the work setting is a private practice or a professional corporation;
- (c) The name, license type, and license number of the current supervisor;
- (d) The reason why the applicant was unable to complete the licensure process within seven years; and
- (e) A description of the plan for the associate to gain the needed hours toward licensure during the two-year extension period.

## BPC §4984.7.

- (a) The board shall assess the following fees relating to the licensure of marriage and family therapists:
- (1) The application fee for an associate registration shall be one hundred fifty dollars (\$150). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of three hundred dollars (\$300).
- (2) The annual renewal fee for an associate registration shall be one hundred fifty dollars (\$150). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of three hundred dollars (\$300).
- (3) The fee for the application for licensure shall be two hundred fifty dollars (\$250). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of five hundred dollars (\$500).
- (4) (A) (i) The fee for the clinical examination shall be two hundred fifty dollars (\$250). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of five hundred dollars (\$500).
- (ii) The fee for the California law and ethics examination shall be one hundred fifty dollars (\$150). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of three hundred dollars (\$300).
- (B) An applicant who fails to appear for an examination, after having been scheduled to take the examination, shall forfeit the examination fee.
- (C) The amount of the examination fees shall be based on the actual cost to the board of developing, purchasing, and grading each examination and the actual cost to the board of administering each examination. The examination fees shall be adjusted periodically by regulation to reflect the actual costs incurred by the board.
- (5) The fee for rescoring an examination shall be twenty dollars (\$20).

- (65) The fee for the issuance of an initial license shall be two hundred dollars (\$200). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of four hundred dollars (\$400).
- (76) The fee for the two-year license renewal shall be two hundred dollars (\$200). The board may adopt regulations to set the fee at a higher amount, up to a maximum of four hundred dollars (\$400).
- (87) The renewal delinquency fee shall be one-half of the fee for license renewal. A person who permits their license to expire is subject to the delinquency fee.
- (98) The fee for issuance of a replacement registration, license, or certificate shall be twenty dollars (\$20).
- (109) The fee for issuance of a certificate or letter of good standing shall be twenty-five dollars (\$25).
- (4110) The fee for issuance of a retired license shall be forty dollars (\$40).
- (b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2021.

#### BPC §4984.72.

- (a) Effective January 1, 2016, anAn applicant who fails the clinical examination may, within one year from the notification date of that failure, retake the examination as regularly scheduled without further application upon payment of the fee for the examination. Thereafter, the applicant shall not be eligible for further examination until he or she filesthey file a new application, meets all requirements in effect on the date of application, and pays all required fees.
- (b) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2016.

## ATTACHMENT B RESEARCH: EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS IN OTHER STATES

## <u>Massachusetts – Mental Health Counselors</u>

262 CMR 2.00: Requirements For Licensure As a Mental Health Counselor

### §2.07: Post-master's Degree Clinical Field Experience Requirements

(1) Eligible applicants must complete, in no less than two and no more than eight years, a minimum of two years of full-time or equivalent part-time, post-Master's degree Supervised Clinical Field Experience and Direct Client Contact Experience.

# Florida Statutes, Title XXXII, Chapter 491 (Clinical, Counseling, and Psychotherapy Services)

491.0045 Intern registration; requirements.—

- (1) An individual who has not satisfied the postgraduate or post-master's level experience requirements, as specified in s. 491.005(1)(c), (3)(c), or (4)(c), must register as an intern in the profession for which he or she is seeking licensure before commencing the post-master's experience requirement or an individual who intends to satisfy part of the required graduate-level practicum, internship, or field experience, outside the academic arena for any profession, and must register as an intern in the profession for which he or she is seeking licensure before commencing the practicum, internship, or field experience.
- (2) The department shall register as a clinical social worker intern, marriage and family therapist intern, or mental health counselor intern each applicant who the board certifies has:
- (a) Completed the application form and remitted a nonrefundable application fee not to exceed \$200, as set by board rule;
- (b)1. Completed the education requirements as specified in s. 491.005(1)(c), (3)(c), or (4)(c) for the profession for which he or she is applying for licensure, if needed; and
- 2. Submitted an acceptable supervision plan, as determined by the board, for meeting the practicum, internship, or field work required for licensure that was not satisfied in his or her graduate program.
- (c) Identified a qualified supervisor.
- (3) An individual registered under this section must remain under supervision while practicing under registered intern status.
- (4) An individual who fails to comply with this section may not be granted a license under this chapter, and any time spent by the individual completing the experience requirement as specified in s. 491.005(1)(c), (3)(c), or (4)(c) before registering as an intern does not count toward completion of the requirement.
- (5) An intern registration is valid for 5 years.
- (6) Any registration issued after March 31, 2017, expires 60 months after the date it is issued. The board may make a one-time exception to the requirements of this subsection in emergency or hardship cases, as defined by board rule, if

the candidate has passed the theory and practice examination described in s. 491.005(1)(d), (3)(d), and (4)(d).

(7) An individual who has held a provisional license issued by the board may not apply for an intern registration in the same profession.

## Florida Regulations 64B4-3.0085(10) Intern Registration.

- (10) For a Registered Intern to be eligible for a one-time exception due to an emergency or hardship, pursuant to Section 491.0045(6), F.S., the registered intern must have completed the following:
- (a) Passed the theory and practice examination as required in Sections 491.005(1)(d), (3)(d); (4)(d), F.S.;
- (b) Completed all educational requirements, including their required clinical practicum hours; and,
- (c) Confirmed in writing that a circumstance or circumstances exist or existed that substantially relate to the ability to complete the internship requirements which are beyond the registered intern's control and are of such duration to have eliminated the ability of the registered intern to complete their internship requirements established pursuant to Section 491.0045(6), F.S. and that the registered intern understands that failure to pass the exam does not meet the requirements of an emergency or hardship case.
- (11) No later than 30 days prior to the expiration of the internship registration, the Registered Intern shall submit, form DH5065-MQA, Registered Intern Exception Request Form (Revised 5/2023), hereby adopted and incorporated by reference, which can be obtained from <a href="http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-15366">http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-15366</a>, or on the web at <a href="www.floridamentalhealthprofessions.gov/resources">www.floridamentalhealthprofessions.gov/resources</a>. Upon receipt of timely filed, fully completed and signed Registered Intern Exception Request Form, the Board shall issue the registered intern a one-time exception by granting an extension of their registration status for 24 months from the date of the initial registration expiration. No further exceptions or extensions are authorized by Section 491.0045, F.S.

#### CA Board of Psychology

California Code of Regulation (CCR) Title 16 §1387(a)

#### § 1387. Supervised Professional Experience.

(a) Pursuant to section 2914(c) of the code, two years of qualifying SPE shall be completed and documented prior to licensure. One year of SPE shall be defined as 1500 hours. At least one year of SPE shall be completed postdoctorally. Each year of SPE shall be completed within a thirty (30) consecutive month period. If both years of SPE (3000 hours) are completed postdoctorally, they shall be completed within a sixty (60) month period. Upon showing of good cause as determined by the board, these specified time limitations may be reasonably modified.

Staff reached out to other state licensing boards via the Association of State Licensing Board's (ASWB's) list serve to ask other states to report if and how their required experience hours expire. The responses varied, and are summarized as follows:

## <u>Pennsylvania (State Board of Social Workers, Marriage & Family Therapists, and Professional Counselors)</u>

**Licensed Clinical Social Worker** (49 PA Code §47.12c (b)(9)): (9) The supervised clinical experience shall be completed in no less than 2 years and no more than 6 years, except that at least 500 hours and no more than 1,800 hours may be credited in any 12-month period.

**Licensed Professional Counselor** (49 PA Code §49.13(b)(9)): (9) The supervised clinical experience shall be completed in no less than 2 years and no more than 6 years, except that no less than 500 hours and no more than 1,800 hours may be credited in any 12 month period.

**Licensed MFT** (49 PA Code §48.13(b)(9)) (9) The supervised clinical experience shall be completed in no less than 2 years and no more than 6 years, except that no less than 500 hours and no more than 1,800 hours may be credited in any 12-month period.

## Nevada (Nevada Board of Examiners for Social Workers)

In Nevada, if the post-graduate clinical intern completes fails to complete his / her hours in the time allowed, (s)he must apply for a new post-graduate internship. We allow up to three years. The hours from the internship that is timing out are banked and rolled over to the new internship once the remaining requirements for the internship are completed, e.g. hours or exam. If the intern completes one internship and immediately enters another one, we will roll their hours over, regardless of the time. If they stop their clinical practice then we will only count three year's worth of hours. The Board does not extend beyond 3 years.

## Louisiana (Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners)

Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 37, Chapter 35 §2708. Qualification; licensed clinical social worker

A. No individual shall be eligible for licensure by the board as a licensed clinical social worker unless the individual:

- (1) Is of good moral character and whose screening for criminal history pursuant to R.S. 37:2710 contains no disqualifying information.
- (2) Holds a master's degree from an accredited graduate school of social work.

- (3) Has completed at least three thousand hours of postgraduate social work practice over a minimum of two years and a maximum of four years while under the supervision of a board-approved clinical supervisor. The board shall consider circumstances warranting more than four years to complete this experience requirement.
- (4) Has passed an examination approved by the board

North Carolina (North Carolina Social Work Certification and Licensure Board) NCGS § 90B-7(f) The Board may issue an associate license in clinical social work to a person who has a masters or doctoral degree in social work from a college or university social work program approved, accredited, or in candidacy for accreditation by the Council on Social Work Education and who desires to be licensed as a licensed clinical social worker. The associate license may not be issued for a period exceeding two years and the person issued the associate license must practice under the supervision of a licensed clinical social worker or a Board-approved alternate. The associate licensee shall complete all requirements for licensed clinical social worker licensure within three renewal cycles, or a total of six years, unless otherwise directed by the Board. Associate licensees who fail to satisfy all requirements for licensed clinical social worker licensure within six years from the date of associate license issuance may apply for a new associate license. However, the Board shall not issue a subsequent associate license to an applicant until the applicant has passed the qualifying examination required by the Board. Supervision and experience hours acquired under an associate license shall expire six years from the date of initial associate license issuance, and expired supervision and experience hours shall not apply toward future licensure.

#### Alaska (Board of Social Work Examiners)

<u>Sec. 08.95.110.</u> License requirements. (a) The board shall issue a license to practice clinical social work to a person who

- (1) has received a master's degree or a doctoral degree in social work from a college or university approved by the board;
- (2) has completed, within the 10 years before application for licensure and under the supervision of a licensed social worker, licensed psychologist, or licensed psychiatrist either
- (A) a minimum of two years of continuous full-time employment in postgraduate clinical social work; or
- (B) a minimum of 3,000 hours of less than full-time employment in a period of not less than two years in postgraduate clinical social work;
- (3) is of good moral character;

- (4) is in good professional standing and is fit to practice social work as determined by the board;
- (5) has provided three professional references that are acceptable to the board, including, if the applicant
- (A) was previously employed to practice social work, one reference from a person who was the applicant's employer while practicing social work unless the applicant demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board that the applicant is unable to satisfy the requirement of this subparagraph through no fault of the applicant; and
- (B) is currently employed to practice social work, a reference from the applicant's current employer;
- (6) has satisfactorily completed the examination given by the board for clinical social worker licensing; and
- (7) has paid required fees.
- (b) The board shall issue a license authorizing use of the title, "master social worker" to a person who
- (1) satisfies the requirements of (a)(1), (3) (5), and (7) of this section; and
- (2) has satisfactorily completed the examination given by the board for master social worker licensing.
- (c) The board shall issue a license authorizing use of the title, "baccalaureate social worker" to a person who
- (1) satisfies the requirements of (a)(3) (5) and (7) of this section;
- (2) has received a bachelor's degree in social work from a college or university approved by the board; and
- (3) has satisfactorily completed the examination given by the board for baccalaureate social worker licensing.

## Arizona (Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners)

Arizona does not have an age limit on experience hours.

## Ohio (Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage and Family Therapist Board) Ohio does not have an age or time limit on supervised experience.

## New York (State Board for Social Work)

Title 8 NYCRR 74.3 defines acceptable experience:

An applicant for licensure as a licensed clinical social worker shall meet the experience requirement for licensure by submitting documentation of three years of full-time supervised clinical social work experience in diagnosis, psychotherapy, and

assessment-based treatment plans, or the part-time equivalent, or a combination of full-time and part-time supervised clinical social work experience in diagnosis, psychotherapy, and assessment-based treatment plans, completed over a period not to exceed six years, in accordance with the requirements of section 74.6 of this Part. For purposes of this subdivision, the full-time experience shall consist of not less than 2,000 client contact hours over a continuous period of at least 36 months and not to exceed six years.

The experience can roll over so long as 36 months of practice with at least 2000 client contact hours of diagnosis and psychotherapy are in a period of 72-consecutive months.