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APPLICATION FOR

ASSOCIATE PROFESSIONAL CLINICAL
COUNSELOR REGISTRATION

Out-of-State* and Out-of-Country** Applicants

» Apply within 90 days of graduation*** to count experience hours gained
in California immediately after graduating

See 90-day Rule FAQ on the Board’s website for details

Thank you for your interest in becoming an Associate Professional Clinical Counselor
(APCC). Included in this packet are the following forms and documents:

1. Application Selector and Overview of Licensure Process

Guide to Educational Requirements for APCCs

Application Instructions

Application Checklist

Important Information for Applicants

Application for Registration as an Associate Professional Clinical Counselor
Degree Program Certification Form (Out-of-State Degree)

Degree Program Worksheet (Out-of-Country Degree)

Verification of License or Registration in Another State or Country
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Instructions for Live Scan Fingerprinting
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—

. Request for Live Scan Service Form

*Out-of-State means an applicant with a degree from a school located outside of
California, or from an online program that is not designed to meet California’s
requirements.

**Out-of-Country means an applicant with a degree from a school located outside
of the United States or its territories.

***Per the degree award date posted on your transcript



https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/90day_rule.pdf
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Board of Behavioral Sciences

S LPCC Out-of-State/Out-of-Country Application
Selector and Overview of Licensure Process

This is a summary. For a full description of licensure requirements, see Statutes and Requlations.

| have an out-of-state or
out-of-country degree and
need to obtain 3,000 hours
of supervised work

experience

Submit the APCC Out-of-
State/Out-of-Country Application
Click Here for APCC Application

y

Once you receive an APCC
registration you may apply to take
the CA Law and Ethics Exam,
which you must take prior to
renewing your APCC registration

y

After obtaining 3,000 hours of
qualifying experience and
completing Additional Coursework
you may submit the
LPCC IN-STATE Application

Click Here for LPCC Application

| have an out-of-state or out-of-
country degree and already have
3,000 hours of qualifying
supervised work experience OR
I am licensed as an LPCC at the
highest level in the U.S.

A

Submit the LPCC Out-of-State/Out-of-
Country Application (Path A or Path B)

Click Here for Path A Application
Click Here for Path B Application

v
Path B

Once approved you will
be eligible to sit for the
CA Law and Ethics
Exam

Path A

Once approved you will
be eligible to sit for the
CA Law and Ethics
Exam

Take and pass
A the CA Law and

Once your LPCC application is
approved and you have passed
the Law and Ethics Exam you will
be eligible to sit for the NCMHCE*

Ethics Exam

*NCMHCE =
National Clinical
Mental Health
Counseling Exam

Revised 06/2023

A

After you pass the appropriate exams
submit your Request for Initial License
Issuance to receive your LPCC license

Take and pass
the CA Law and
Ethics Exam,
then contact the
Board

A

If you have not yet
passed the NCMHCE*
you will receive

Click Here for Initial License
Application

notification of your
eligibility to sit for the
NCMHCE*



https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/lpc_app_oos_01012016.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/lpc_app_oos_path_b.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/lpc_app_st.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/initial_lic_iss.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/initial_lic_iss.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/pcci_app_oos_01012016.pdf
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Board of Behavioral Sciences

Associate Professional Clinical Counselor
OUT-OF-STATE AND OUT-OF-COUNTRY APPLICANTS

This guide is for Associate Professional Clinical Counselor (APCC) applicants with an out-of-state
or out-of-country degree. “Out-of-State” means a degree from a school located outside of
California, or from an online program that is not designed to meet California’s requirements. “Out-
of-Country” means a degree earned from a school located outside of the United States or its
territories.

APCC applicants with an out-of-state or out-of-country degree must meet the educational
requirements specified in Business and Professions Code (BPC) sections 4999.61 and 4999.62.
This document provides a summary of those requirements.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
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What additional units and coursework must | complete prior to approval of my

Application FOr LPCC LiCENSUI@?..............oooooe et e e 3
Who is an acceptable course provider? .............oooo i 5
What if my degree is from a school located outside of the United States? ...................... 5
Summary Chart: LPCC Education Requirements & Remediation..................................... 6
Core Content Areas (CCAS) ..o 7
Additional Coursework required prior to LPCC licensure .................ccoooiiiiiiiiiiieeeiiiiieeeee, 9

1. How will | know if my degree qualifies for registration as an APCC?

California law requires a degree to meet certain minimum requirements to qualify for APCC
registration. The law allows for some types of coursework to be remediated, and also allows
a limited number of units to be remediated. Unfortunately, in some cases an applicant’s
degree will not qualify at all, and a new degree would be required. This guide will help you
determine whether your degree qualifies.

Exception: If you have been licensed for two or more years in another U.S. state, and hold
a current LPCC license in good standing at the highest level in the other state, you may be
able to qualify for LPCC licensure under “Path A” regardless of degree qualifications. See
the Guide to LPCC Out-of-State Applicant Requirements for more information (access at
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LPCC>Qut-of-State Applicants).

(Revised 10/2024) 1 State of California


https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=4999.61.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=4999.62.
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/lpc/lpcc_oos_req_guide.pdf
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LPCC>Out-of-State

2. What are the minimum degree requirements for APCC registration?

If your out-of-state or out-of-country degree does NOT fully contain ALL of the minimum
requirements listed below, it will NOT qualify for APCC registration in California and a new
degree would be required in order to qualify.

®» These are minimums only - see question 4 for ADDITIONAL requirements you must meet
prior to approval of your Application for LPCC Licensure.

v" A master’s or doctorate degree from a school that holds a regional or national
institutional accreditation recognized by the United States Department of
Education (USDE), or a school approved by the California Bureau for Private
Postsecondary Education (BPPE)

v' Degree fully contains a minimum of 48 semester units or 72 quarter units

v Degree fully contains a minimum of 7 Core Content Areas (CCAs) as described on
pages 7- 8

®» Must not be deficient units in any of those 7 CCAs

» All 13 CCAs are required PRIOR to issuance of an APCC registration if NOT
licensed as an LPCC at the highest level in another state or country

v Degree fully contains a minimum of 6 semester units or 9 quarter units of
practicum that includes 280 hours of supervised face-to-face counseling
experience

» Exception: If you hold a current LPCC license in good standing in another state or
country at the highest level, the practicum requirements are waived

v Degree fully contains a minimum of 3 semester units or 4 quarter units in the
Diagnosis Core Content Area

v Degree fully contains a minimum of 3 semester units or 4 quarter units in the
Assessment Core Content Area

NOTE: The Board may require submission of syllabi for required coursework after
evaluating your application. Please gather your syllabi so that you can be prepared in the
event that any are requested.

(Revised 10/2024) 2 State of California




3. What additional coursework must | take prior to issuance of my APCC
registration?

CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS COURSE

» If you completed a 3 semester unit or 4 quarter unit law and ethics course that does
NOT contain California content:

You must complete a 12-hour California Law and Ethics course that contains the content
specified in BPC section 4999.62(b)(1)(D)(ii). This course must be taken from an
accepted continuing education provider.

» If you completed a law and ethics course that is LESS THAN 3 semester units or 4
quarter units:

You must complete a graduate level California law and ethics course to bring your total to
3 semester units or 4 quarter units. This course must be taken at an accredited or
approved school (see question 5 for more information on approved providers). A CE
course will not be accepted.

CORE CONTENT AREAS (CCAs)

» If you do NOT hold a current LPCC license in good standing at the highest level in
another state or country, and your degree did NOT contain all 13 CCAs as
described on pages 7- 8:

You must complete graduate level coursework to meet all 13 CCAs before your APCC
registration can be issued. CE courses will not be accepted.

® If you are currently licensed as an LPCC at the highest level in good standing in
another state or country:

You may remediate eligible CCAs while registered as an APCC. You must remediate all
missing/deficient CCAs prior to approval of your Application for LPCC Licensure. CE
courses will not be accepted.

See question 5 for information on acceptable course providers.

4. What additional units and coursework must | complete prior to approval of my
Application for LPCC Licensure?

DEGREE REMEDIATION

Prior to approval of your Application for LPCC Licensure, you will be required to complete
additional units and coursework if any of the following are deficient within your degree:

Overall Units: If you began your degree program on or after August 1, 2012 or
graduated after December 31, 2018, and your degree contained less than 60 semester
units or 90 quarter units, you must take graduate level coursework to bring your total to 60
semester units or 90 quarter units (a maximum of 12 semester units or 18 quarter units may
be remediated). CE courses will not be accepted.

(Revised 10/2024) 3 State of California



https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=4999.62.
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/licensees/cont_ed.html

Core Content Areas (CCAs): If your degree did not fully contain all 13 CCAs as
described on pages 7-8, you must complete graduate level coursework to meet all 13
CCAs. Courses must be taken from an accredited or approved school (see question 5 for
more information on providers). CE courses will not be accepted.

Advanced Coursework (AC): If your degree did not contain a minimum of 15
semester units or 22.5 quarter units of AC (coursework designed to develop knowledge of
specific treatment issues or special populations), you must complete graduate level
coursework to bring your AC total to 15 semester units or 22.5 quarter units. These
courses/units must be IN ADDITION to CCA courses and units. Courses must be taken
from an accredited or approved school (see question 5 for more information on providers).
CE courses will not be accepted.

ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK

You must also complete “Additional Coursework” at the graduate level as specified in BPC
section 4999.62 (if not already taken) prior to approval of your Application for LPCC
Licensure. Certain courses must be California-specific and must be taken from an accepted
continuing education provider. See pages 9-10 for a list of courses and required content.

REMEDIATION AND DOUBLE-COUNTING

®» If you are remediating Overall Degree Units and are deficient in one or more CCAs
or in Advanced Coursework:

The courses you take to meet the CCA or Advanced Coursework requirements may also
be counted toward fulfilling your overall unit requirements.

®» If you are remediating CCAs or Advanced Coursework:
You may be able to also count the course toward Additional Coursework requirements.
For Example:
Your degree is deficient in CCA #6 Multicultural Counseling Theories and Techniques.
= The course you take includes education about California cultures.

v" This course may then also count toward fulfilling Additional Coursework item f)
“California Cultures and the Social and Psychological Implications of Socioeconomic
Position.”

IMPORTANT: A course taken to meet a CCA will NOT also count toward Advanced
Coursework (and vice-versa). Double-counting is not permitted because California law

specifies that Advanced Coursework must be in addition to CCA courses/units (per BPC
section 4999.62(b)(2)).

(Revised 10/2024) 4 State of California
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5. Who is an acceptable course provider?

®» If you are remediating any of the following:
v Overall Degree Units
v CCAs
v Advanced Coursework
v’ California Law and Ethics (3 semester units or 4 quarter units) course

The above courses/units must be taken at the graduate level from a school with a
regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the USDE, or from a school
approved by the BPPE. CE courses will not be accepted.

®» For the 12-hour California Law and Ethics course AND Additional Coursework:

Must be taken at the graduate level from an accepted continuing education provider
(access at www.bbs.ca.gov>Licensees>Continuing Education).

6. What if my degree is from a school located outside of the United States?

In addition to meeting all of the other requirements in this document, you must obtain an
evaluation of your degree by a foreign credential evaluation service to determine
equivalency with California’s requirements, and submit it with your APCC application (per
BPC section 4999.40(c)). The evaluation service must be a member of the National
Association of Credential Evaluation Services (www.naces.org). You will also be required to
submit an official transcript, and a syllabus for each course you believe will help the Board
determine whether your degree qualifies (translated if not in English).

Suggestion: Prior to paying a credentials evaluation service for an evaluation, compare
your degree to California’s requirements by using the optional “Out-of-Country Degree
Program Worksheet” contained in the Application for APCC Registration to help you
determine whether to proceed.

For QUESTIONS about out-of-state requirements, contact:

bbs.apcc@dca.ca.gov

For information about EXPERIENCE and EXAMINATION requirements
that you must meet prior to licensure:

See Path B of the Guide to LPCC Qut-of-State Applicant Requirements (access at
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LPCC>Out of State Applicants).

(Revised 10/2024) 5 State of California
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2L BBS Summary - LPCC Out-of-State/Out-of-Country Education Requirements

Board of Behavioral Sciences

Minimum 48 semester units or 72 quarter units
Degree program began

1. OVERALL prior to 8/1/2012 —> within degree or cannot qualify for licensure
DEGREE
UNITS Degree program began e Minimum 48 semester or 72 quarter units
on or after 8/1/2012 —> within degree or cannot qualify for licensure
¢ If above minimum is met, must complete 60
semester units or go quarter units total prior to
2. CORE CONTENT approval of Application for Licensure
AREAS (CCAs)
e 7 of 13 CCAs must be fully
within degree or will not 2A. Completed a 12-hour California
qualify for licensure California 3 semester unit or Law and Ethics course
e Assessment & Diagnosis Law and ) 4 quarter unit Law prior to issuance of
CCAs must be fully within Ethics and Ethics course Associate registration
degree or will not qualify Course but no California
for licensure (see BPC content
e |f unlicensed or license section 3 semester unijc or
does not meet 4999.62) | | NoLawand Ethics | _ 2duarterunt
qualifications*: Must for eThE o T T Ca.llfornla Law .and
remediate prior to issuance required short units Ethics course prior to
of Associate registration | %\, poida course issuance of Associate
e If licensed™®: Must current license in <elu:ld registration

good standing as

an LPCC in another

state or country at
. the highest level

remediate prior to approval
of Application for Licensure

3. PRACTICUM

e 6 semester units or
9 quarter units
AND

e 280 hours of

Holds a current license in
good standing in another
state or country as an LPCC
at the highest level

Practicum requirement waived

supervised f?ce-to- Degree program must meet
face cpunselmg All Others 5 Ppracticum unit/hour requirements
experience or cannot qualify for licensure
4. ADVANCED COURSEWORK

e 15 semester units or 22.5 quarter units to 5. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK
develop knowledge of specific treatment Must remediate prior to approval of
issues or special populations Application for Licensure. Required

e Must remediate prior to approval of courses listed on following pages.

Application for Licensure

(Revised 02/2023) 6 State of California
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CORE CONTENT AREA (CCA) REQUIREMENTS

3 Semester Units or 4 Quarter Units are required in each CCA

CORE CONTENT AREA

REQUIRED CONTENT

1.

Counseling &
psychotherapeutic
theories & techniques

The counseling process in a multicultural society, an orientation to wellness
and prevention, counseling theories to assist in selection of appropriate
counseling interventions, models of counseling consistent with current
professional research and practice, development of a personal model of
counseling, and multidisciplinary responses to crises, emergencies, and
disasters.

. Human growth and

development across
the lifespan

Normal and abnormal behavior and an understanding of developmental crises,
disability, psychopathology, and situational and environmental factors that
affect both normal and abnormal behavior.

. Career development

theories & techniques

Career development decision-making models and interrelationships among
and between work, family, and other life roles and factors, including the role of
multicultural issues in career development.

. Group counseling

theories & techniques

Principles of group dynamics, group process components, developmental
stage theories, therapeutic factors of group work, group leadership styles and
approaches, pertinent research and literature, group counseling methods, and
evaluation of effectiveness.

. Assessment,

appraisal, & testing of
individuals

Basic concepts of standardized and nonstandardized testing and other
assessment techniques, norm-referenced and criterion-referenced
assessment, statistical concepts, social and cultural factors related to
assessment and evaluation of individuals and groups, and ethical strategies for
selecting, administering, and interpreting assessment instruments and
techniques in counseling. A DEGREE DEFICIENT UNITS IN THIS AREA
WILL NOT QUALIFY FOR REGISTRATION OR LICENSURE*

. Multicultural

counseling theories &
techniques

Counselors' roles in developing cultural self-awareness, identity development,
promoting cultural counseling theories social justice, individual and community
strategies for working with and advocating for diverse and techniques
populations, and counselors' roles in eliminating biases and prejudices, and
processes of intentional and unintentional oppression and discrimination.

. Principles of the

diagnostic process

Differential diagnosis, and the use of current diagnostic tools, such as the
current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, the impact of co-
occurring substance use disorders or medical psychological disorders,
established diagnostic criteria for mental or emotional disorders, and the
treatment modalities and placement criteria within the continuum of care.

A DEGREE DEFICIENT UNITS IN THIS AREA WILL NOT QUALIFY FOR
REGISTRATION OR LICENSURE*

*Exception: If you have held a license in another U.S. state as an LPCC at the highest level for at least two
years, and that license is current and good standing, you may be able to qualify for licensure via Path A
regardless of degree qualifications. See the Guide to LPCC QOut-of-State Applicant Requirements (access at
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant> LPCC>OQut-of-State Applicants).

Revised 10/2024
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CORE CONTENT AREA REQUIREMENTS (continued)

3 Semester Units or 4 Quarter Units are required in each CCA

CORE CONTENT AREA

REQUIRED CONTENT

8. Research and
evaluation

Studies that provide an understanding of research methods, statistical
analysis, the use of evaluation research to inform evidence-based practice,
the importance of research in advancing the profession of counseling, and
statistical methods used in conducting research, needs assessment, and
program evaluation.

9. Professional
orientation, ethics &
law in counseling

Professional ethical standards and legal considerations, licensing law and
process, regulatory laws that delineate the profession's scope of practice,
counselor-client privilege, confidentiality, the client dangerous to self or
others, treatment of minors with or without parental consent, relationship
between practitioner's sense of self and human values, functions and
relationships with other human service providers, strategies for
collaboration, and advocacy processes needed to address institutional and
social barriers that impeded access, equity, and success for clients.

10.Psychopharmacology

The biological bases of behavior, basic classifications, indications, and
contraindications of commonly prescribed psychopharmacological
medications so that appropriate referrals can be made for medication
evaluations and so that side effects of those medications can be identified.

11.Addictions
counseling

Substance abuse, co-occurring disorders, and addiction, major approaches
to identification, evaluation, treatment, and prevention of substance abuse
and addiction, legal and medical aspects of substance abuse, populations
at risk, the role of support persons, support systems, and community
resources.

12.Crisis or trauma
counseling

Crisis theory; multidisciplinary responses to crises, emergencies, or
disasters; cognitive, affective, behavioral, and neurological effects
associated with trauma; brief, intermediate, and long-term approaches; and
assessment strategies for clients in crisis and principles of intervention for
individuals with mental or emotional disorders during times of crisis,
emergency, or disaster.

13.Advanced counseling
& psychotherapeutic
theories and
techniques

The application of counseling constructs, assessment and treatment
planning, clinical interventions, therapeutic relationships, psychopathology,
or other clinical topics.

Revised 10/2024




ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK REQUIRED PRIOR TO LPCC LICENSURE

FOR APPLICANTS WITH AN OUT-OF-STATE OR OUT-OF-COUNTRY DEGREE

Note: 1 semester unit = 15 hours; 1 quarter unit = 10 hours
1 semester unit = 1.5 quarter units

COURSE

LENGTH

CONTENT REQUIRED

a) Human Sexuality

10 hours

Instruction must include the study of the
physiological, psychological, and social-cultural
variables associated with sexual behavior, sexual
dysfunctions, sexual orientation, gender identity,
gender dysphoria and the assessment and treatment
of psychosexual dysfunction.

b) Spousal/Partner Abuse
Assessment, Detection and
Intervention

15 hours

Instruction must cover spousal and partner abuse
assessment, detection, intervention strategies, and
same-gender abuse dynamics.

¢) Child Abuse Assessment
and Reporting in California

7 hours

Instruction must include detailed knowledge of the
California Child Abuse Neglect and Reporting Act
(CANRA). It must also include assessment and
methods of reporting of sexual assault, neglect,
severe neglect, general neglect, willful cruelty or
unjustifiable punishment, corporal punishment or
injury, and abuse in out-of-home care. The training
shall also include physical and behavioral indicators
of abuse, crisis counseling techniques, community
resources, rights and responsibilities of reporting,
consequences of failure to report, caring for a child’s
needs after a report is made, sensitivity to previously
abused children and adults, and implications and
methods of treatment for children and adults.

d) Aging, Long Term Care and
Elder/Dependent Adult
Abuse

10 hours

Instruction must cover aging and long-term care,
including biological, social, cognitive and
psychological aspects of aging, and instruction on
the assessment and reporting of, as well as
treatment related to, elder and dependent adult
abuse and neglect.

Revised 10/2024




ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK REQUIRED PRIOR TO LPCC LICENSURE

FOR APPLICANTS WITH AN OUT-OF-STATE OR OUT-OF-COUNTRY DEGREE (continued)

COURSE LENGTH | CONTENT REQUIRED

e) Mental Health Recovery 45 hours or | Instruction must cover principles of mental health
Oriented Care and Methods 3 semester | recovery-oriented care and methods of service
of Service Delivery units delivery in recovery-oriented practice environments,

including structured meetings with various
consumers and family members of consumers of
mental health services to enhance understanding of
their experience of mental iliness, treatment and
recovery.

f) California Cultures and the 15 hours or | Instruction must include an understanding of various
Social and Psychological 1 semester | California cultures and the social and psychological
Implications of unit implications of socioeconomic position.
Socioeconomic Position

g) Suicide Risk Assessment 6 hours of | See BPC section 4999.66
and Intervention coursework

or applied
experience

Revised 10/2024
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APPLICATION FOR \ f ' '
ASSOCIATE PROFESSIONAL OO BBS
CLINICAL COUNSELOR (APCC) Board of Behavioral Sciences
REGISTRATION

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS
Out-of-State and Out-of-Country Applicants

READ CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING YOUR APPLICATION

Submit your completed application to:  Board of Behavioral Sciences
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200
Sacramento, CA 95834

=» Use only one clip to hold your application and fee together. Staples and paperclips
interfere with your application being scanned.

=» Do not attach multiple applications together. Each application should be clipped
separately or provided in separate envelopes with a separate fee attached to each.

» Avoid delays! Use the included Application Checklist and read all instructions
closely. This will help you submit a complete application and avoid deficiencies.

» If you are applying for a SUBSEQUENT (second or third) APCC registration, please
use the Application for Subsequent APCC Registration.

EXPEDITED REVIEW

The Board will expedite the licensure process for the following applicants who meet the
qualifications specified on the forms linked below (all expedite forms are available at
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicants>LPCC>Forms/Pubs):

e Active-duty military members. Download the form here and include it ON TOP OF your
application.

e Honorably discharged veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces or the California National
Guard. Download the form here and include it ON TOP OF your application.

e Spouses/Partners of persons on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces assigned to
a duty station in California. A $150 fee waiver is also available to these applicants.
Download the form here and include it ON TOP OF your application.

e Refugees / Asylees / Special Immigrant Status Holders ("SI" or "SQ"). Download the
form here and include it ON TOP OF your application.

DCA BBS 37A-646 (Revised 10/2024) 1 State of California
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PROOF OF RECEIPT OF APPLICATION

If you would like to know whether the Board has received your application, mail your application
using a method that includes tracking. You can also check with the bank to see if your check or
money order has been cashed by the Board.

A. APPLICATION

Instructions

Document(s) Required

Complete all sections of the Application for Associate Professional
Clinical Counselor Registration. The application may be typed or
completed in ink.

Sign the application in ink (wet signature) or electronically. An
electronic signature will be accepted if completed via an electronic
signature platform such as Adobe Sign or DocuSign which ensures
security and authenticity.

You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name
established legally by your birth certificate, marriage or domestic
partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example).

Email Address: Provide your email address if you have one. This

address is not subject to public disclosure.

Completed and signed
Application for
Associate
Professional Clinical
Counselor
Registration

B. FEE

Instructions

Document(s) Required

Attach a $150.00 check or money order made payable to the Behavioral
Sciences Fund. This is an earned fee for evaluation of your application
and is NOT REFUNDABLE.

$150.00 check or
money order payable
to the Behavioral
Sciences Fund

Out-of-State Fingerprinting Fee:

Attach a $49 fee if ONLY you are submitting fingerprint “hard cards” due to
being fingerprinted outside of California (see next page for details).

If submitting
fingerprint “hard
cards” also attach a
$49 check or money
order payable to the
Behavioral Sciences
Fund

DCA BBS 37A-646 (Revised 10/2024) 2
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C. FINGERPRINTS

Instructions

Document(s) Required

NOTE: IF YOU ARE APPLYING FOR BOTH APCC AND AMFT
REGISTRATION YOU ONLY NEED TO SUBMIT ONE SET OF
FINGERPRINTS.

The Board requires a Department of Justice (DOJ) and Federal Bureau
of Investigation (FBI) criminal history background check on all applicants.

If you currently reside in California: Read the Instructions for Live
Scan Fingerprinting and complete the Request for Live Scan Service
form included in this application packet.

e The information on this form must match the information you
provide on your application.

e DO NOT COMPLETE FINGERPRINTS MORE THAN 60 DAYS
PRIOR TO SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION. Fingerprint results
without an application on file will only be held for 6 months.

If you currently reside out of state: You must use the "hard card"
fingerprint method unless you can access a California Live Scan
Service operator. To request fingerprint hard cards, send an email to
BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.gov with "Fingerprint Hard Cards" in the
subject line, and we will mail them to you.

e YOU MUST SUBMIT YOUR TWO COMPLETED FINGERPRINT
CARDS TO THE BOARD WITH YOUR APPLICATION. Sending
fingerprint cards and/or the $49 fee separate from your application
will cause a delay with the approval of your application.

e DOJ processing time for hard card fingerprints is 8 or more weeks.

If you currently reside
in California: Submit
the second copy of
your completed
Request for Live Scan
Service Applicant
Submission form

If you currently reside
out of state:

Submit two completed
fingerprint hard cards
(FBI and DOJ) AND $49
fee payable to
Behavioral Sciences
Fund WITH YOUR
APPLICATION

D. VERIFICATION OF LICENSE OR REGISTRATION IN ANOTHER STATE OR COUNTRY

Instructions

Document(s) Required

If you hold or have held a license or registration as a professional clinical
counselor in another state or country, and that state or country does
NOT have a public online license lookup that contains information on
disciplinary actions, you must provide a completed Verification of
Licensure or Registration in Another State form. This verification may be
provided in one of the following ways:

e Emailed to the Board directly FROM THE LICENSING AGENCY
to BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov

e Provided in an envelope SEALED BY THE LICENSING AGENCY

Verification of License
or Registration (if
applicable)

MUST BE EMAILED BY
THE LICENSING
AGENCY TO THE
BOARD ORIN AN
ENVELOPE SEALED
BY THE AGENCY
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E. OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS

Instructions

Document(s) Required

Provide official sealed transcript(s) as described below for all of the
following:

e Transcripts verifying your master’s or doctorate degree, including
degree title and date of conferral.

e Transcripts verifying any transferred in units from your bachelor’s
degree, another in-school graduate program or from an outside
school.

e Transcripts verifying any remediated coursework.
Transcripts must be provided either IN AN ENVELOPE SEALED BY

YOUR SCHOOL or be emailed BY YOUR SCHOOL to the Board at
BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov.

For questions about electronic submission, see FAQ (available at
www.bbs.ca.gov>Updates/FAQs>FAQS).

Official sealed transcript(s)
with degree title and date
of conferral posted

Official sealed transcript(s)
for all transferred in or
remediated coursework (if
applicable)

MUST BE IN AN
ENVELOPE SEALED BY
THE SCHOOL OR
EMAILED BY THE
SCHOOL AS DIRECTED

F. CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS COURSE

Instructions

Document(s) Required

Submit documentation of completion of a California Law and Ethics
course with your application as described below:

e If you have taken a 3 semester unit or 4 quarter unit course on

Proof of completion of
California Law and
Ethics Course

law and ethics that did not contain California content:

You must take a 12-hour California course. See Business and

content requirements.

o The required course must be taken from an acceptable
continuing education provider (available at
www.bbs.ca.gov>Licensees>Continuing Education).

e If you have NOT taken a 3 semester unit or 4 quarter unit
course on law and ethics:

total to 3 semester units or 4 quarter units. See BPC section
4999.33(c)(l) for course content requirements.

not be accepted.

Professions Code (BPC) section 4999.62(b)(1)((D)(ii) for course

You must complete a graduate level California course to bring your

o The required course must be taken from a school that holds a
regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the
USDE or a school approved by the BPPE. A CE course will

DCA BBS 37A-646 (Revised 10/2024) 4
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G. DEGREE PROGRAM CERTIFICATION — DEGREE OBTAINED WITHIN THE U.S.

Instructions

Document(s) Required

Provide an Out-of-State Degree Program Certification completed and
signed by your school’s Chief Academic Officer or their authorized
designee. NOTE: The Board strongly recommends obtaining a copy of
the completed form prior to sending in your application to ensure that
your degree meets all requirements.

This form must be in an envelope sealed by your school or emailed BY
YOUR SCHOOL to BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov.

(Note: This form is NOT required for a degree obtained outside of the
United States).

In addition, if your school accepted any transferred-in units, the school
must attach a letter of explanation identifying those courses and
describing how they were applied to your degree program.

Completed Out-of-State
Degree Program
Certification form

Letter of explanation
from school for
transferred-in units (if
applicable)

MUST BE EMAILED BY
THE SCHOOL TO THE
BOARD OR PROVIDED
IN AN ENVELOPE
SEALED BY THE
SCHOOL

H. COURSE SYLLABI

Instructions

Document(s) Required

The Board may require submission of syllabi for one or more courses
listed on your Degree Program Certification after evaluating your
application. Please gather your syllabi so that you can be prepared if
any are requested.

None at this time

H. DEGREE EARNED OUTSIDE OF THE UNITED STATES

Instructions

Document(s) Required

If you have a degree or other education gained outside of the United
States or its territories, you must have your education evaluated by a
foreign credential evaluation service to determine equivalency. The
service must be a member of the National Association of Credential
Evaluation Services (www.naces.org). MUST BE IN AN ENVELOPE
SEALED BY THE EVALUATING AGENCY OR SENT BY THE
AGENCY TO BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov.

The Board has the authority to make the final determination as to
whether a degree meets all requirements, including, but not limited to
course requirements regardless of evaluation or accreditation.

In addition to the evaluation, submit an official transcript as described in
section E and a syllabus for each course that you believe will help you
meet California’s requirements (translated into English if needed).

Suggestion: Complete the Out-of-Country Degree Program Worksheet

to help determine if your degree qualifies before paying for an evaluation.

Evaluation by a
foreign credential
evaluation service IN
AN ENVELOPE
SEALED BY THE
EVALUATION
AGENCY OR EMAILED
BY THE AGENCY TO
THE BOARD

Course syllabi
(translated into
English if needed)

Out-of-Country
Degree Program
Worksheet (optional
but recommended)
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J. DEGREE QUALIFICATIONS AND REMEDIATION

Information

Document(s)
Required

You must possess a master’s or doctorate degree from a school that holds
a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the USDE, or
a school approved by the BPPE (see section H for requirements if your
degree was obtained outside the United States). If not, your degree does
not qualify for an associate registration.

OVERALL UNITS:

e Your degree MUST contain a minimum of 48 semester units or 72
quarter units. If not, your degree does not qualify for a registration.

Additional unit requirements for applicants who began graduate study
on or after Auqust 1, 2012 OR whose degree award date was after
December 31, 2018:

Your degree must contain a minimum of 48 semester units or 72 quarter

units. However, a total of 60 semester units or 90 quarter units of graduate
coursework is required.

If your degree contains LESS than 60 semester units or 90 quarter units,
you must complete graduate level coursework to remediate this deficiency
(a maximum of 12 semester units or 18 quarter units of instruction
may be remediated). Units can be gained while registered as an Associate,

but must be remediated before the Board can approve your Application for
Licensure.

For information about remediation, see the next page.

PRACTICUM:

e Applicants licensed as an LPCC at the highest level for

independent clinical practice in another state or country, and that
license is current, valid and in good standing:

The practicum requirement is waived.

e All other applicants:

Your degree program must contain a minimum of 6 semester or 9
quarter units of practicum which included at least 280 hours of face-to-
face supervised clinical experience counseling individuals, families or
groups. If not, your degree does not qualify for a registration.

N/A

DCA BBS 37A-646 (Revised 10/2024) 6
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J. DEGREE QUALIFICATIONS AND REMEDIATION (continued)

Information

Document(s)
Required

CORE CONTENT AREAS AND REMEDIATION

You must meet the 13 core content area requirements, as described in
Business and Professions Code (BPC) section 4999.33(c), and as listed on
the Degree Program Certification form in this packet. In addition:

e Your degree program must have fully contained a minimum of seven
(7) of the 13 required core content areas (3 semester units or 4
quarter units in each area). If not, your degree does not qualify for
a registration.

e Your degree program must have fully contained a minimum of 3
semester units or 4 quarter units of coursework in the “Assessment,
appraisal and testing of individuals” core content area. If not, your
degree does not qualify for a registration.

e Your degree program must have fully contained a minimum of 3
semester units or 4 quarter units of coursework in the “Principles of
the diagnostic process” core content area. If not, your degree does
not qualify for a registration.

ALL 13 CORE CONTENT AREAS MUST BE FULFILLED. If you are
missing six (6) or fewer core content areas, you may remediate the missing
areas. The requirements for remediation are as follows:

e Applicants licensed as an LPCC at the highest level for
independent clinical practice in another state or country, and that
license is current, valid and in good standing:

Core content areas may be remediated while registered as an
Associate except for the California Law and Ethics course, which must
be remediated prior to approval of your Associate registration. All 13
core content areas must be fulfilled prior to approval of your
Application for LPCC Licensure.

e All other applicants:

All 13 core content areas must be fulfilled PRIOR TO ISSUANCE OF
YOUR ASSOCIATE REGISTRATION.

ACCEPTABLE COURSE PROVIDERS:

For areas where remediation is permitted, missing courses must be taken
at the graduate level from a school that holds a regional or national
institutional accreditation recognized by the USDE, or a school approved
by the BPPE. CE courses will not be accepted.

Official sealed
transcripts showing
remediated core
content areas (if
applicable),
submitted as
directed in Section E
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K. ADVANCED COURSEWORK REQUIRED PRIOR TO LICENSURE

Instructions

Document(s) Required

“Advanced Coursework” is defined as “courses that develop knowledge
of specific treatment issues or special populations.” Completion of this
coursework is NOT required for Associate registration. However, a total
of 15 semester units or 22.5 quarter units of Advanced Coursework is
required prior to approval of your Application for Licensure.

These courses must be in addition to core content area courses
and will be identified by your school on the Out-of-State Degree
Program Certification form.

If you need additional units, they must be gained at the graduate level
from a school that holds a regional or national institutional accreditation
recognized by the USDE, or a school approved by the BPPE. CE
courses will not be accepted.

If you completed Advanced Coursework outside of your degree
program, you may submit documentation of completion now, rather
than with a future application, by providing an official transcript.

None at this time, but
you may submit official
transcripts for units
gained outside of your
degree program with
your APCC application

L. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK REQUIRED PRIOR TO LICENSURE

Instructions

Document(s) Required

The “Additional Coursework” listed beginning on Pages 9-10 of the
Guide to Educational Requirements for Out-of-State/Out-of-Country
APCC Applicants are NOT required for Associate registration.
However, they are required prior to approval of your Application for
Licensure.

If you have already completed a course, you may submit
documentation of completion now rather than with a future application
if you wish. If this content was provided within your degree program,
your school may verify completion on the Degree Program Certification
form. If this coursework or training was not within your degree program,
submit a copy of the certificate of completion. A course description or
syllabus will be required if the course content is not easily identifiable
by the course title.

The courses can be taken from a school that holds a regional or national
institutional accreditation recognized by the USDE or a school approved
by the BPPE. The courses may also be taken from acceptable
continuing education (CE) provider (available at www.bbs.ca.gov
>Licensees>Continuing Education>Where to find CE Courses).

None at this time, but
you may submit proof of
completion with your
APCC application
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CLINICAL COUNSELOR
(APCC) REGISTRATION Board of Behavioral Sciences

o
ASSOCIATE PROFESSIONAL 3 B B S

APPLICATION CHECKLIST
Out-of-State and Out-of-Country Applicants

Avoid application deficiencies!

Carefully read the preceding Application Instructions to ensure all
requirements are met pertaining to the documents listed below:

[0 Completed Application (form no. 37A-632).
[0 Official sealed transcript with degree title and date of conferral posted.

[0 Official sealed transcript(s) (if applicable) for: (1) all courses transferred into your
degree program; and (2) any remediated coursework.

[ Letter of explanation from your school re: any transferred-in units (if applicable).
[0 Sealed Out-of-State Degree Program Certification (form no. 37A-662).

O If Degree was Earned Outside of the United States: Evaluation of Degree (and
optional Degree Program Worksheet).

[0 Sealed Verification of License or Registration in Another State or Country (if
applicable).

[0 Proof of completion of California Law and Ethics course.

[0 Completed Request for Live Scan Service form OR

Two completed fingerprint “hard cards” with the $49 fingerprint card processing
fee (check or money order payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund).

O $150.00 check or money order payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund.



Important Information for “ie’ ™
. BBS
ASSOCIATE PROFESSIONAL

CLINICAL COUNSELOR
APPLICANTS

Board of Behavioral Sciences

1. PUBLICATIONS FOR APCCs

The following Board publications provide important information for APCCs (access at
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicants>LPCC>Forms/Pubs):

e Handbook for Future LPCCs ( Text Only Version )
¢ Answers to Most Frequently Asked Questions Relating to APCCs

e APCC Supervisor Qualification Summary
e APCC Guide to Supervision
e 10 Tips for a Smoother Licensing Process

2. WHEN CAN | BEGIN COUNTING POST-DEGREE EXPERIENCE? WHAT IS THE
90-DAY RULE?

The date that you may begin counting post-degree hours of experience toward licensure
depends on all of the following:

= If you submit your Application for Associate Registration WITHIN 90 days from the date
your qualifying degree was conferred (as posted on your transcript) you may begin
accruing hours immediately upon your degree award date (as posted on your
transcript).

= |f you submit your Application for Associate Regqistration MORE than 90 days after the
date your qualifying degree was conferred (as posted on your transcript) you may not
begin accruing hours until your Associate registration (APCC) number has been issued.

Live Scan Requirement for Applicants who Graduated on or after January 1, 2020:
Hours may only be accepted under the “90-day-rule” described above IF the hours are
obtained at a workplace that, prior to the applicant gaining hours, required Live Scan
fingerprinting.

To count these hours, you must provide documentation to the Board consisting of a copy
of the processed “State of California Request for Live Scan Service” form provided by
the employer. This form must be submitted with the Application for Licensure in order
for the hours gained between graduation and registration issuance to be accepted. A
copy of the processed form is the ONLY acceptable documentation specified in law.
There are no exceptions. See the FAQ about the 90-day rule for more information
(access at www.bbs.ca.gov>Updates/FAQSs).

DCA BBS 37A-655 (Revised 08/2024) 1 State of California
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3. EXAM REQUIREMENT FOR RENEWAL OF REGISTRATION

Registrants Must Take a California Law and Ethics Exam to Renew

After your Associate registration is issued, you will be required to take the LPCC
California Law and Ethics Exam. Your registration will not be renewable until the exam
has been taken. You will be given instructions on applying for this exam once your
registration has been issued. The California Law and Ethics Exam is designed to assess
an applicant's knowledge of and ability to apply legal and ethical standards relating to
clinical practice. See the Exams tab of the Board’s website for more information.

4. CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT FOR RENEWAL OF REGISTRATION

Registrants Must Complete 3 Hours of CE in California Law and Ethics to Renew
Three (3) hours of continuing education (CE) in California Law and Ethics is required once
every renewal cycle in order to renew your registration. For more information see the
Registrant CE Information Brochure (access at www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicants>LPCC>
Forms/Pubs).

5. SUPERVISION AND WORK SETTING REQUIREMENTS

You are required to work under the supervision of a qualified supervisor in order to gain
hours of experience toward licensure. You and your supervisor are required to complete
a Supervision Agreement within 60 days of commencing supervision.

In addition, it is against the law for you to provide clinical services in a private practice
setting or in a professional corporation prior to issuance of your APCC registration.

6. 6-YEAR LIMIT AND ISSUANCE OF SUBSEQUENT REGISTRATIONS

Your registration can only be renewed five (5) times, for a total six (6)-year length. If you
need to continue beyond six years, you must apply for a subsequent registration number.
A subsequent registration can only be issued to applicants who have passed the LPCC
California Law and Ethics Exam. Those issued a subsequent registration are not
permitted to work in a private practice setting or in a professional corporation.

7. AVOID YOUR FILE BEING CLOSED BY MEETING THE TIME FRAMES BELOW

In accordance with Title 16, California Code of Regulations section 1806, an application
shall be deemed abandoned in either of the following circumstances:

e You do not submit evidence that you have cleared the deficiencies specified in the
deficiency letter within one (1) year from the date of the initial deficiency letter OR

e You do not complete your application within one (1) year after it has been filed.

To re-open an abandoned application, you must submit a new application, fee and all
required documentation, as well as meet all current registration requirements in effect at
the time the new application is submitted.
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8. PUBLIC ADDRESS

The address you enter on your application is public information and will be placed on the
Internet pursuant to BPC section 27. If you do not want your home or work address
available to the public, use an alternate mailing address such as a post office box. Email
addresses are not subject to public disclosure.

9. EMAIL AND MAILING ADDRESS CHANGES

You are required to maintain a current mailing address with the Board. You are also
required to maintain a current email address with the Board if you have one. When you
have a change in your mailing or email address, be sure to update it ASAP online at
www.breeze.ca.gov.

10. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

To obtain a copy of the Board’s Statutes and Regulations, please access it from the
Board’s website (go to www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant and scroll to the bottom of the page).

11. AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT

The Executive Officer of the Board has been designated to coordinate and carry out the
Board’s compliance with the nondiscrimination requirements of Title Il of the ADA.
Information concerning the provisions of the ADA, and the rights provided thereunder,
are available from the Board’s ADA coordinator.

12. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR OTHER TAXPAYER IDENTIFICATION
NUMBER

Disclosure of your tax identification number on your application is mandatory. You may
provide either your Social Security Number, your Federal Employer Identification
Number, or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, as applicable. Section 30 of the
Business and Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c) (2) (c))
authorizes collection of these tax identification numbers.

Your tax identification number will not be deemed a public record and shall not be open
to the public. Your tax identification number will be used exclusively for tax enforcement
purposes, for purposes of compliance with any judgment or order for family support in
accordance with section 17520 of the Family Code, or for verification of licensure or
examination status by a licensing or examination entity which utilizes a national
examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the requesting state. If you fail to
disclose your tax identification number, your application for initial or renewal license will
not be processed AND you will be reported to the Franchise Tax Board, which may
assess a $100 penalty against you.
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13. STATE TAX OBLIGATION

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 31(e), the State Board of
Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the
Board. If a registrant does not pay their state tax obligation, the associate registration
may be suspended.

14. NOTICE ON COLLECTION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION:

Please see the Notice on Collection of Personal Information (access at
www.bbs.ca.gov>About Us>About the Board>Other Information>Policies).

15. QUESTIONS?

Please visit the Contact Us link at www.bbs.ca.gov and select an option under
“Message the Board.”
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APPLICATION FOR \f ' .
ASSOCIATE PROFESSIONAL N E' E'S
CLINICAL COUNSELOR Board of Behavioral Sciences
REGISTRATION

Out-of-State and Out-of-Country Applicants

Office Use Only:

Avoid delays and deficiencies - carefully read the Application Instructions FIRST

Attach a $150 fee

SSN or ITIN* Birth Date: mm/dd/yyyy |E-Mail Address

Legal Name**  Last First Middle

Public Address of Record*** Number and Street

City State | Zip Code Phone

If you have ever been known by another name, list the full name(s) and dates of use below
(attach any additional names and dates):

Full Name Dates of Use (from/to)
Full Name Dates of Use (from/to)
Have you ever served in the United States Armed Forces or the Yes, Currently [ ] Nol[]

California National Guard? (OPTIONAL) Yes, Previously [ ]

* Disclosure of your United States tax identification number is mandatory. You may provide either
your Social Security Number, your Federal Employer Identification Number, or Individual Taxpayer
Identification Number, as applicable. This number must match the number you provide on your
fingerprint forms. See Important Information for Applicants for more information about how your tax
identification number is used.

** You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name established legally by your birth
certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example).

*** The address you enter on this application is public information and will be placed on the Internet
pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 27. All correspondence from the Board will be
mailed to this address. If you do not want your home or work address available to the public, use an
alternate mailing address such as a post office box.
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Applicant Name: Last

First

Middle

1. Have you ever applied for or been issued a license, registration or certificate Yes [ ] No [ ]
to practice professional clinical counseling or any other health care

profession in California or any other state?

If YES, provide the information requested below (continue on an additional
sheet if needed):

State

Type of License, Registration
or Certificate

License, Registration
or Certificate Number

Date
Issued

Status

2. Within the 7 years preceding your submission of
this application, were you denied a professional
health care license (“license” includes registrations,
certificates, or other means to engage in practice)
OR had a professional health care license or
privilege suspended, revoked, or otherwise
disciplined, OR voluntarily surrendered any such
license in California or any other state or territory of
the United States, or by any other governmental

agency or a foreign country?

Yes[ ] Nol[]

If YES, we recommend that you complete
the Background Statement form to facilitate

processing of your application (access at
bbs.ca.gov>Consumers> Criminal
Convictions>Forms).

We recommend that you answer “Yes” even
if you have previously reported it to the

Board, and indicate the type of professional
license that was denied, suspended,
disciplined, or surrendered, including the
date(s) of the denial, suspension,
disciplinary action, You do not need to
resubmit documentation previously on file.

3. If you hold or have held a license or registration as

a professional clinical counselor in another state or
country, and that state or country does NOT have a N/A[]

public online license lookup that contains

information on disciplinary actions, have you
attached a completed Verification of Licensure or
Registration in Another State form for each license
or registration held?

Yes[ ] Nol[]

DCA BBS 37A-632 (Revised 10/2024)
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Applicant Name: Last First Middle
DEGREE REQUIREMENTS
4. Does your degree contain a minimum of 48 semester units or 72 [ 1Yes []No

quarter units?

If NO, your degree does
not qualify

. Did you begin graduate study on or after August 1, 2012 or were
awarded your degree after December 31, 2018?

If YES, does your degree contain a minimum of 60 semester

[ JYes [ ]No

[ ]Yes [ ]No IfNO,
see Application

units or 90 quarter units? Instructions
. Does your degree FULLY contain a minimum of 7 of the 13 [ 1Yes [INo
required Core Content Areas (CCAs) as described in the Guide to [] Not sure

Educational Requirements?

(Note: All 13 CCAs must be fulfilled prior to applying for
licensure)

If NO, your degree does
not qualify

. Does your degree FULLY contain a minimum of 3 semester units
or 4 quarter units that meets the “Assessment” CCA requirement?

[ JYes [ ]No
[ ] Not sure

If NO, your degree does
not qualify

. Does your degree FULLY contain a minimum of 3 semester units
or 4 quarter units that meets the “Diagnosis” CCA requirement?

[ JYes [ ]No
[ ] Not sure

If NO, your degree does
not qualify

DCA BBS 37A-632 (Revised 10/2024)

. Does your degree FULLY contain a minimum of 6 semester units
or 9 quarter units of supervised practicum or field study as
described in the Application Instructions?

Exception: If you are licensed as an LPCC at the highest level for
independent clinical practice in another state or country, and that
license is current and in good standing, the practicum requirement is
waived.
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[ ]1am exempt

If NO, your degree does
not qualify (unless you
are exempt).
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Applicant Name: Last First Middle

10. Have you submitted all official transcripts as directed in Yes — Sealed Transcripts via Mail [_]

the Application Instructions? Yes — Electronic Transcripts []
No [ ]
11. Have you submitted a Degree Program Certification Yes — Sealed Form via Mail [_]

form? See Application Instructions section G for

: Yes — Sent Electronically [_]
requirements.

No [ ]

CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS COURSE

12. Have you attached documentation of completion of the required course in [1Yes [No
California Law and Ethics as described in section F of the Application
Instructions?

ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK

13. The following courses are NOT required for Associate registration. However, they are required
prior to approval of your application for licensure. If you have already completed a course, you
may list the course title and the provider below, and submit documentation of completion now
rather than with a future application. If this content was provided within your degree program,
there is a section that may be used for verification by your school on the Degree Program
Certification form.

a) Human Sexuality (10 hours)

Course Title(s):

Provider(s):

b) Spousal or Partner Abuse Assessment and Intervention (15 hours)

Course Title(s):

Provider(s):

c) Child Abuse Assessment and Reporting in California (7 hours)

Course Title(s):

Provider(s):

d) Aging, Long Term Care and Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse (10 hours)

Course Title(s):

Provider(s):
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Applicant Name: Last First Middle

13. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK (continued)

e) California Cultures and the Social and Psychological Implications of Socioeconomic Position (15
hours)

Course Title(s):

Provider(s):

f) Mental Health Recovery Oriented Care and Methods of Service Delivery (45 hours)

Course Title: Course Title:
Provider: Provider:
Course Title: Course Title:
Provider: Provider:

g) Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention (6 hours)

Course Title(s):

Provider(s):

DCA BBS 37A-632 (Revised 10/2024) Page 5 of 6 State of California



Applicant Name: Last First Middle

BACKGROUND INFORMATION — RESPONSE IS VOLUNTARY

Some criminal convictions will appear on the Board's background check and may require additional
investigation prior to a licensing determination. For information on which convictions the Board is
permitted to consider, see the Criminal Conviction FAQ (access at bbs.ca.gov>Consumers>
Criminal Convictions>Publications). All currently pending criminal actions will appear on the Board’s
background check and may require additional investigation prior to a licensing determination.

You are not required to disclose any past convictions or pending criminal cases on this application.
In some cases, voluntarily providing information with the application about convictions that the
Board is permitted to consider may help an application get processed more quickly.

You may therefore choose to complete the Background Statement form (access at
bbs.ca.gov>Consumers> Criminal Convictions>Forms) and submit it with your application along
with evidence of rehabilitation. The form is available on the Board's website, and includes areas to
report convictions the board is permitted to consider, or pending criminal actions.

You can also submit the Background Statement form and evidence of rehabilitation after you
submit your application or in response to inquiries from the Board. You may seek legal assistance
from a lawyer or legal aid organization before providing any information about your criminal history.
The Board will not deny your application because you exercised your right not to provide criminal
history information in your initial application.

NOTE: Knowingly making a false statement of fact that is required to be revealed in this
application may be grounds for denial of this application

Signature of Applicant: Date:

DCA BBS 37A-632 (Revised 10/2024) Page 6 of 6 State of California
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA — BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor

\ / Board of Behavioral Sciences
S 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834
<N Telephone: (916) 574-7830
www.bbs.ca.gov

PROFESSIONAL CLINICAL COUNSELOR
OUT-OF-STATE DEGREE PROGRAM CERTIFICATION

This form is for use by applicants with an Out-of-State Degree

®» INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANT

The purpose of this form is for your school to verify the specifics of a degree program from a school
located outside of California, or from an online program that is not designed to meet California’s
requirements. It may also be used to verify completion of additional coursework required prior to
licensure. The Board may require additional information to verify course content, such as course
syllabi. Note: This form is not required for applicants with a degree earned outside of the United
States or its territories.

e This form must be provided with your application in an envelope that has been sealed by your
school OR sent by your school directly to the Board via email.

e To qualify, your degree must fully contain all of the requirements specified in the Guide to
Educational Requirements for Out-of-State APCC Applicants, or if applying for licensure, the
Guide to Licensure Requirements for Qut-of-State LPCC Applicants. There are no exceptions.

e The Board recommends obtaining a copy of this completed form and reviewing it prior to
applying so that you can determine whether your degree qualifies.

» INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHOOL

The applicant is applying for a registration or license with the Board of Behavioral Sciences. Please
complete this form including the certification on the last page and provide the applicant with the
original IN A SEALED ENVELOPE or send directly to the Board at BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov.

If any transferred-in units were accepted, attach a letter of explanation identifying those
courses and describing how they were applied to the student’s program.

The full legal text of the degree requirements is located in Business and Professions Code (BPC)
section 4999.62, which also contains references to BPC sections 4999.32 and 4999.33. These code
sections are also available on the Board’s website under Statutes and Requlations.

IMPORTANT: Units for Core Content Areas (CCAs), Practicum, and Advanced Coursework can
only be applied once (cannot be double-counted). For example, if the applicant has 3 semester
units being applied to fulfill the Assessment CCA, those units cannot be applied to a different CCA,
nor can they be applied to Practicum or Advanced Coursework. However, course units can be split.

DCA BBS 37A-662 (Revised 10/2024)
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¥ BBS

Board of Behavioral Sciences

PROFESSIONAL CLINICAL COUNSELOR
OUT-OF-STATE DEGREE PROGRAM CERTIFICATION

Applicant Name:  Last First Middle
SSN or Individual Taxpayer ID Number: Date Began Graduate Study = mm/dd/yyyy
1. Number of units in degree: Semester units [ | Quarter Units [_]

(If the degree does not contain a minimum of 48 semester units or 72 quarter units it does
not qualify)

2. At the time the degree was conferred, was the program CACREP accredited? Yes [ | No [ ]
If YES, attach documentation of accreditation.

3. CORE CONTENT AREAS: Has the applicant completed coursework that is the equivalent of at
least three (3) semester units or four (4) quarter units in each of the following areas?

A.Yes[ | No[ ] Counseling and psychotherapeutic theories and techniques, including the counseling
process in a multicultural society, an orientation to wellness and prevention,
counseling theories to assist in selection of appropriate counseling interventions,
models of counseling consistent with current professional research and practice,
development of a personal model of counseling, and multidisciplinary responses to
crises, emergencies, and disasters.

Number of units: Course number(s):

B. Yes[ | No[ ] Human growth and development across the lifespan, including normal and abnormal
behavior and an understanding of developmental crises, disability, psychopathology,
and situational and environmental factors that affect both normal and abnormal
behavior.

Number of units: Course number(s):
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Applicant Name:

Last First Middle

3. CORE CONTENT AREAS (continued): Has the applicant completed coursework that is the
equivalent of at least three (3) semester units or four (4) quarter units in each of the following

areas?

C.Yes[ | No[ ]

D.Yes|[ ]| No[ ]

E.Yes[ ] No[]

F.Yes[ ] No[]

Career development theories and techniques, including career development
decision-making models and interrelationships among and between work, family,
and other life roles and factors, including the role of multicultural issues in career
development.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Group counseling theories and techniques, including principles of group dynamics,
group process components, developmental stage theories, therapeutic factors of
group work, group leadership styles and approaches, pertinent research and
literature, group counseling methods, and evaluation of effectiveness.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Assessment, appraisal, and testing of individuals, including basic concepts of
standardized and non-standardized testing and other assessment techniques,
norm-referenced and criterion-referenced assessment, statistical concepts, social
and cultural factors related to assessment and evaluation of individuals and groups,
and ethical strategies for selecting, administering, and interpreting assessment
instruments and techniques in counseling. (NOTE: Must be fully within degree
program, or degree does not qualify)

Number of units: Course number(s):

Multicultural counseling theories and techniques, including counselors’ roles in
developing cultural self-awareness, identity development, promoting cultural social
justice, individual and community strategies for working with and advocating for
diverse populations, and counselors’ roles in eliminating biases and prejudices, and
processes of intentional and unintentional oppression and discrimination.

Number of units: Course number(s):
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Applicant Name:

Last First Middle

3. CORE CONTENT AREAS (continued): Has the applicant completed coursework that is the
equivalent of at least three (3) semester units or four (4) quarter units in each of the following

areas:?

G.Yes[ ] No[]

H.Yes|[ ] No[ ]

l.Yes[ ] No[]

J.Yes[ ] No[]

Principles of the diagnostic process, including differential diagnosis, and the use of
current diagnostic tools, such as the current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical
Manual, the impact of co-occurring substance use disorders or medical psychological
disorders, established diagnostic criteria for mental or emotional disorders, and the
treatment modalities and placement criteria within the continuum of care. (NOTE:
Must be fully within degree program, or degree does not qualify)

Number of units: Course number(s):

Research and evaluation, including studies that provide an understanding of
research methods, statistical analysis, the use of research to inform evidence-based
practice, the importance of research in advancing the profession of counseling, and
statistical methods used in conducting research, needs assessment, and program
evaluation.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Professional orientation, ethics, and law in counseling, including professional ethical
standards and legal considerations, licensing law and process, regulatory laws that
delineate the profession’s scope of practice, counselor-client privilege, confidentiality,
the client dangerous to self or others, treatment of minors with or without parental
consent, relationship between practitioner’s sense of self and human values,
functions and relationships with other human service providers, strategies for
collaboration, and advocacy processes needed to address institutional and social
barriers that impede access, equity, and success for clients.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Psychopharmacology, including the biological bases of behavior, basic
classifications, indications, and contraindications of commonly prescribed
psychopharmacological medications so that appropriate referrals can be made for
medication evaluations and so that the side effects of those medications can be
identified.

Number of units: Course number(s):
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Applicant Name:

Last First Middle

3. CORE CONTENT AREAS (continued): Has the applicant completed coursework that is the
equivalent of at least three (3) semester units or four (4) quarter units in each of the following

areas?

K.Yes[ ] No[]

L. Yes[ ] No[ ]

M. Yes[ | No[ ]

4. Yes[ ] No[]

5. Yes[ ] No[]

Addictions counseling, including substance abuse, co-occurring disorders, and
addiction, major approaches to identification, evaluation, treatment, and prevention of
substance abuse and addiction, legal and medical aspects of substance abuse,
populations at risk, the role of support persons, support systems, and community
resources.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Crisis or trauma counseling, including crisis theory; multidisciplinary responses to
crises, emergencies, or disasters; cognitive, affective, behavioral, and neurological
effects associated with trauma; brief, intermediate, and long-term approaches; and
assessment strategies for clients in crisis and principles of intervention for individuals
with mental or emotional disorders during times of crisis, emergency, or disaster.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Advanced counseling and psychotherapeutic theories and techniques, including the
application of counseling constructs, assessment and treatment planning, clinical
interventions, therapeutic relationships, psychopathology, or other clinical topics.

Number of units: Course number(s):

ADVANCED COURSEWORK: In addition to the course requirements listed in
#A — M above, the applicant’s degree contains 15 semester units or 22.5 quarter
units that develop knowledge of specific treatment issues or special populations.

Number of units: Course numbers:

SUPERVISED PRACTICUM: The applicant’s degree program contained 6
semester units or 9 quarter units of practicum or field study that included at least 280
hours of face-to-face supervised clinical experience counseling individuals, families,
or groups.\

\Course numbers:
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Applicant Name:

Last First Middle

6. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK: The following courses are NOT required to be part of the
applicant’s degree program, but are required for licensure. Please provide information about any of
the following content provided within the applicant’s degree.

Mark “Yes” if the applicant’s degree program contained any of the specified content, and list the
number of units or hours and course numbers. If the applicant completed some, but not all of the
content listed, you may mark “Yes” but please indicate the missing content on the last page under

“Notes”.

A.Yes[] No[]

B.Yes[] No[]

C.Yes[ ] No[]

D.Yes[] No[]

E.Yes[ ] No[]

F.Yes[] No[]

Suicide risk assessment and intervention. Number of Hours:

Course Number(s):

Human sexuality, including the study of the physiological, psychological, and social
cultural variables associated with sexual behavior, gender identity, and the
assessment and treatment of psychosexual dysfunction. Number of Hours:

Course Number(s):

Aging and long-term care, including biological, social, cognitive, and psychological
aspects of aging, and including instruction on the assessment and reporting of, as
well as treatment related to, elder and dependent adult abuse and neglect.

Number of Hours: Course Number(s):

Spousal/partner abuse assessment, detection, intervention strategies, and same-
gender abuse dynamics.

Number of Hours: Course Number(s):

Mental health recovery oriented care and methods of service delivery in recovery-
oriented practice environments.

Number of Hours: Course Number(s):

Structured meetings with various consumers and family members of consumers of
mental health services to enhance understanding of their experiences of mental
illness, treatment, and recovery.

Number of Hours: Course Number(s):
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Applicant Name:  Last

First Middle

Notes:

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that all of the foregoing is true and correct

Signature of Chief Academic Officer or
Authorized Designee

Name of Institution

Print Name

Campus City and State

Date Signed

Institution Accredited or Approved by

Email Address

DCA BBS 37A-662 (Revised 10/2024)
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PROFESSIONAL ‘v’ BEBS
CLINICAL COUNSELOR N

=

oard of Behavioral Sciences

OUT-OF-COUNTRY DEGREE PROGRAM WORKSHEET

This OPTIONAL form is for use by applicants with a degree earned outside the United
States or its territories

Applicant Name: Last First Middle

SSN or Individual Taxpayer ID Number Date Began Graduate Study Degree Award Date

The purpose of this optional form is to help determine whether a degree earned outside of the United
States or its territories may meet California’s minimum requirements. Please complete it to the best of
your ability. NOTE: Units for Core Content Areas (CCAs), Practicum, and Advanced Coursework can only
be applied once (cannot be double-counted). For example, if you have 3 semester units applied to fulfill
the Assessment CCA, those units cannot be applied to a different CCA, nor can they be applied to
Practicum or Advanced Coursework. However, course units can be split. If your degree does not meet
all of the minimum requirements listed on this form, a new degree will be required in order to
qualify in California.

» IMPORTANT: If your degree DOES meet the minimum requirements, you will need to take
additional courses to meet all of California’s educational requirements (see Application
Instructions for details).

A formal degree evaluation is also required as described in the Application Instructions. In addition, submit
a copy of the syllabus for each course listed on this form (translated to English if needed).

DEGREE UNITS REQUIRED

®» Applicants who began graduate study BEFORE August 1, 2012 AND were awarded their degree
ON OR BEFORE December 31, 2018:

v A minimum of 48 semester units or 72 quarter units is required within your degree program or your
degree will not qualify.

» Applicants who began graduate study ON OR AFTER August 1, 2012 OR were awarded their
degree AFTER December 31, 2018:

v Your degree must contain a minimum of 48 semester units or 72 quarter units to qualify. However, if
your degree contains LESS than 60 semester units or 90 quarter units, you must complete graduate
level coursework to bring your total to 60 semester units or 90 quarter units (a maximum of 12
semester units or 18 quarter units of instruction may be remediated). Units can be gained while
registered as an Associate but must be remediated before the Board can approve your Application for
Licensure.

Number of units within my degree program: Semester units [ | Quarter Units [ ]

DCA BBS 37A-663 (Revised 10/2024) 10of4



Applicant Name:  Last First Middle

CORE CONTENT AREAS (CCAs) REQUIRED

Your degree must meet the following minimum CCA standards to qualify:

v MUST FULLY contain three (3) semester units or four (4) quarter units in a minimum of 7 of
the 13 CCAs listed on this form.

= All deficient CCAs (maximum of 6) must be remediated prior to issuance of an Associate
registration.

v CANNOT be deficient units in CCA #5 (Assessment) or CCA #7 (Diagnosis).

CCA1.

CCA 2.

CCA 3.

CCA 4.

CCAS.

The full
number of
units must
be within
degree or
it will not
qualify

Counseling and psychotherapeutic theories and techniques, including the counseling
process in a multicultural society, an orientation to wellness and prevention, counseling
theories to assist in selection of appropriate counseling interventions, models of counseling
consistent with current professional research and practice, development of a personal
model of counseling, and multidisciplinary responses to crises, emergencies, and disasters.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Human growth and development across the lifespan, including normal and abnormal
behavior and an understanding of developmental crises, disability, psychopathology, and
situational and environmental factors that affect both normal and abnormal behavior.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Career development theories and techniques, including career development decision-
making models and interrelationships among and between work, family, and other life roles
and factors, including the role of multicultural issues in career development.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Group counseling theories and techniques, including principles of group dynamics, group
process components, developmental stage theories, therapeutic factors of group work,
group leadership styles and approaches, pertinent research and literature, group
counseling methods, and evaluation of effectiveness.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Assessment, appraisal, and testing of individuals, including basic concepts of standardized
and non-standardized testing and other assessment techniques, norm-referenced and
criterion-referenced assessment, statistical concepts, social and cultural factors related to
assessment and evaluation of individuals and groups, and ethical strategies for selecting,
administering, and interpreting assessment instruments and techniques in counseling.

Number of units: Course number(s):
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Applicant Name:  Last First Middle

CCA 6. Multicultural counseling theories and techniques, including counselors’ roles in developing
cultural self-awareness, identity development, promoting cultural social justice, individual
and community strategies for working with and advocating for diverse populations, and
counselors’ roles in eliminating biases and prejudices, and processes of intentional and
unintentional oppression and discrimination.

Number of units: Course number(s):

CCA7. Principles of the diagnostic process, including differential diagnosis, and the use of current
diagnostic tools, such as the current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual, the

The full . ) . . : :

number of impact of co-occurring substance use disorders or medical psychological disorders,

units must established diagnostic criteria for mental or emotional disorders, and the treatment

be within modalities and placement criteria within the continuum of care.

degree or Number of units: Course number(s):

it will not

qualify

CCA 8. Research and evaluation, including studies that provide an understanding of research
methods, statistical analysis, the use of research to inform evidence-based practice, the
importance of research in advancing the profession of counseling, and statistical methods
used in conducting research, needs assessment, and program evaluation.

Number of units: Course number(s):

CCA9. Professional orientation, ethics, and law in counseling, including professional ethical
standards and legal considerations, licensing law and process, regulatory laws that
delineate the profession’s scope of practice, counselor-client privilege, confidentiality, the
client dangerous to self or others, treatment of minors with or without parental consent,
relationship between practitioner’s sense of self and human values, functions and
relationships with other human service providers, strategies for collaboration, and advocacy
processes needed to address institutional and social barriers that impede access, equity,
and success for clients.

Number of units: Course number(s):
CCA 10. Psychopharmacology, including the biological bases of behavior, basic classifications,

indications, and contraindications of commonly prescribed psychopharmacological
medications so that appropriate referrals can be made for medication evaluations and so
that the side effects of those medications can be identified.

Number of units: Course number(s):
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Applicant Name: Last First Middle

CCA 11.

CCA 12.

CCA 13.

Addictions counseling, including substance abuse, co-occurring disorders, and addiction, major
approaches to identification, evaluation, treatment, and prevention of substance abuse and
addiction, legal and medical aspects of substance abuse, populations at risk, the role of support
persons, support systems, and community resources.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Crisis or trauma counseling, including crisis theory; multidisciplinary responses to crises,
emergencies, or disasters; cognitive, affective, behavioral, and neurological effects associated
with trauma; brief, intermediate, and long-term approaches; and assessment strategies for
clients in crisis and principles of intervention for individuals with mental or emotional disorders
during times of crisis, emergency, or disaster.

Number of units: Course number(s):

Advanced counseling and psychotherapeutic theories and technigues, including the application
of counseling constructs, assessment and treatment planning, clinical interventions, therapeutic
relationships, psychopathology, or other clinical topics.

Number of units: Course number(s):

ADVANCED In addition to the course requirements listed in CCAs #1 — 13 above, the degree
COURSEWORK contains 15 semester units or 22.5 quarter units that develop knowledge of

specific treatment issues or special populations.

Not required to be within

degree, but if deficient Number of units: Course number(s):

must be remediated prior
to approval of your

Application for Licensure

SUPERVISED The degree program contained at least 6 semester units or 9 quarter units of
PRACTICUM practicum or field study that included at least 280 hours of face-to-face

supervised clinical experience counseling individuals, families, or groups.
Number of units: Number of Hours:

Course number(s):

The practicum units and hours must be fully within your degree or it will not qualify. Exception: If
you hold a professional clinical counselor license at the highest level for independent clinical practice that
is valid and in good standing in another state or country, the requirements may be waived.

I certify that all of the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my ability.

Applicant Signature Name of School

Date Signed
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA — BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor

\ { Board of Behavioral Sciences
S 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834
/ \ (916) 574-7830

www.bbs.ca.gov

VERIFICATION OF LICENSE OR REGISTRATION
IN ANOTHER STATE OR COUNTRY

PART 1. APPLICANT: If you hold or have held a license or registration in another state or country, or
if you are submitting supervised experience gained in another state or country, and that state or
country does NOT have a public online license lookup that contains information on disciplinary
actions, this form must be completed. Complete Part 1 and mail this form and any necessary fees to
that licensing agency.

Verification For: [ | Applicant [ | Applicant’s Supervisor

Name of California Applicant:
Last First Middle Date of Birth

Name of Individual to be Verified:
Last First Middle License Number

I hereby authorize the release of my information to the California Board of Behavioral Sciences.

Signature of individual to be verified: Date:

PART 2. LICENSING AGENCY:
Please return completed form to the above mailing address or email to BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov

1. Full name as shown in your records:

2. License or Registration Title:

3. License or Registration Status:

Issue Date: Expiration Date:

4. Any disciplinary action? [ ] No []Yes (If YES, attach an explanation)

Signature of Person Completing Form Date

State Board/Licensing Agency

Printed Name and Title
Stamp Here

State Board or Licensing Agency Name

State Phone Number

DCA BBS 37A-306 (Revised 06/2023)
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR LIVE SCAN FINGERPRINTING
AND PRIVACY NOTICES

Live Scan Fingerprinting is available only in California. Live Scan fingerprint results will be
submitted to the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation
(FBI) electronically.

If you need to have your fingerprints taken in another state, you must use the "hard card"
fingerprint method. To request hard cards and instructions, send an email to
BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.gov with "Fingerprint Hard Cards" in the subject line, and include
your mailing address. Please be advised that the DOJ processing time for hard card
fingerprints is a minimum of 8 to 12 weeks, or longer. In order to avoid processing delays
and additional costs that result from invalid fingerprint cards, fingerprints must be taken at a
law enforcement agency in the state of residence.

Fingerprint Fees - Paid to Live Scan Site

If you have your prints taken via Live Scan, you must pay the fingerprint fees below
directly to the site where you have your Live Scan fingerprints taken:

DOJ FINGERPRINT PROCESSING FEE: $32.00
FBI FINGERPRINT PROCESSING FEE: $17.00

In addition to these processing fees, there may be a service charge associated with
the Live Scan site you visit. The Live Scan service site will collect the above fees at the
time you are fingerprinted. The Live Scan service charge may vary from location to
location.

Complete the Request for Live Scan Service Form

You must complete and submit the attached Request for Live Scan Service form at the
Live Scan site. Make sure that the information provided in Section 3 of the form matches
the information on your BBS application. Once your fingerprints have been scanned, the
Live Scan Operator will complete Section 4 of this form and return the second and third
copies to you.

The second copy of this form, with Section 4 completed by the Live Scan Operator,
must be MAILED to the BBS in order to retrieve your fingerprint results from the DOJ.
Retain the third copy for your records as a proof of payment.
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Live Scan Fingerprint Locations

You must visit an approved Live Scan Service Site. Most local Police and Sheriff
Departments offer the Live Scan fingerprinting service. Some large school districts,
passport services, and stores with generalized fingerprinting expertise may also offer Live
Scan. A current listing of Live Scan sites is available on the DOJ website at
https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/locations.

Consider calling the Live Scan service provider for hours of operation, fees, and
appointment times if necessary. You must present valid photo identification (i.e., driver’s
license, military ID, or passport) at the Live Scan site.

Filling Out Your Live Scan Form

To facilitate prompt and accurate processing, please TYPE or print legibly in ink.

SECTION 1: Type of Application: LIC/CERT/PERMIT

Check the box for the applicable registration or license you are applying for with the BBS.
Even if you are applying for more than one registration or license type, CHECK THE BOX
FOR ONLY ONE LICENSE TYPE. Your fingerprint results will be put towards ALL
registrations and licenses you hold. You do not need to pay or be fingerprinted for each
individual BBS license type.

SECTION 2: This section is already completed.

SECTION 3:

Name of Applicant: Enter your full name

Alias: Indicate all other names used

Date of Birth: Indicate your month/day/year of birth

Sex: Mark the appropriate box

Height: Indicate your height in feet and inches

Weight: Indicate your weight in pounds (Ibs.)

Eye Color: Indicate eye color abbreviation:
BLK - Black GRY - Gray MAR - Maroon | BLU -Blue | GRN - Green
PNK - Pink BRO - Brown HAZ - Hazel MUL - Multicolor

Hair Color: Indicate hair color abbreviation:
BAL - Bald BRO - Brown SDY - Sandy BLK - Black
GRY - Gray WHI - White BLN - Blonde RED - Red
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Place of Birth: Indicate the state or country of birth

Social Security Enter your SSN or individual taxpayer ID number. Must match the
Number: number provided on your application.

Driver’s License Enter your Driver’s license number if you have one.

No:

Address: Enter a mailing address of your choice. You may use a business

address, your home address, or any current address. This
address will not be viewable by the public, and will be used
solely for the BBS’ records.

Your BBS File number:
Enter your BBS file number. If you are a brand new applicant and do not currently hold an
identifying number, leave this line blank.

If Resubmission, list Original ATI No.

This is only used for a second fingerprinting due to a prior fingerprint rejection. The ATI No.
allows you to be re-fingerprinted without paying the DOJ and FBI processing fee (service
charges may still apply.)

Applicant Signature
Sign and date the application to indicate that you have read the included Privacy Notice,
Privacy Act Statement and Applicant’s Privacy Rights.

SECTION 4:
To be completed by the Live Scan operator.

37A-648 (Revised 06/2020) 3



REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE

Privacy Notice
As Required by Civil Code § 1798.17

Collection and Use of Personal Information. The California Justice Information Services
(CJIS) Division in the Department of Justice (DOJ) collects the information requested on this
form as authorized by Business and Professions Code sections 4600-4621, 7574-7574.16,
26050-26059, 11340-11346, and 22440-22449; Penal Code sections 11100-11112, and
11077.1; Health and Safety Code sections 1522, 1416.20-1416.50, 1569.10-1569.24, 1596.80-
1596.879, 1725-1742, and 18050-18055; Family Code sections 8700-87200, 8800-8823, and
8900-8925; Financial Code sections 1300-1301, 22100-22112, 17200-17215, and 28122-
28124; Education Code sections 44330-44355; Welfare and Institutions Code sections 9710-
9719.5, 14043-14045, 4684-4689.8, and 16500-16523.1; and other various state statutes and
regulations. The CJIS Division uses this information to process requests of authorized entities
that want to obtain information as to the existence and content of a record of state or federal
convictions to help determine suitability for employment, or volunteer work with children, elderly,
or disabled; or for adoption or purposes of a license, certification, or permit. In addition, any
personal information collected by state agencies is subject to the limitations in the Information
Practices Act and state policy. The DOJ's general privacy policy is available at
http://oag.ca.gov/privacy-policy.

Providing Personal Information. All the personal information requested in the form must be
provided. Failure to provide all the necessary information will result in delays and/or the
rejection of your request.

Access to Your Information. You may review the records maintained by the CJIS Division in
the DOJ that contain your personal information, as permitted by the Information Practices Act.
See below for contact information.

Possible Disclosure of Personal Information. In order to process applications pertaining to
Live Scan service to help determine the suitability of a person applying for a license,
employment, or a volunteer position working with children, the elderly, or the disabled, we may
need to share the information you give us with authorized applicant agencies. The information
you provide may also be disclosed in the following circumstances:

e With other persons or agencies where necessary to perform their legal duties, and their
use of your information is compatible and complies with state law, such as for
investigations or for licensing, certification, or regulatory purposes.

e To another government agency as required by state or federal law.

Contact Information. For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may
contact the Associate Governmental Program Analyst at the DOJ's Keeper of Records at (916)
210-3310, by email at keeperofrecords@doj.ca.gov, or by mail at: Department of Justice Bureau
of Criminal Information & Analysis Keeper of Records P.O. Box 903417 Sacramento, CA
94203-4170.



http://oag.ca.gov/privacy-policy
mailto:keeperofrecords@doj.ca.gov
https://1569.10-1569.24
https://1416.20-1416.50
https://7574-7574.16

REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE

Privacy Act Statement

Authority. The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated
information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your
application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L.
92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your fingerprints and
associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval
of your application.

Principal Purpose. Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security
clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and
associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise
responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other
fingerprints in the FBI's Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems
(including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the
employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints
and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while
retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to
or retained by NGI.

Routine Uses. During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be
disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by
the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the
Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI's Blanket Routine
Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: employing, governmental, or
authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, licensing,
security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law
enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security
or public safety.



REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE

Noncriminal Justice Applicant's Privacy Rights

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for a
noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for employment or a license, an immigration or
naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed
below.

e You must be provided written notification’ that your fingerprints will be used to check the
criminal history records of the FBI.

e You must be provided, and acknowledge receipt of, an adequate Privacy Act Statement
when you submit your fingerprints and associated personal information. This Privacy Act
Statement should explain the authority for collecting your information and how your
information will be used, retained, and shared.?

e If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your suitability for
the employment, license, or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to complete or
challenge the accuracy of the information in the record.

e The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or
update of your criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR), Section 16.34.

e If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time to
correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the
employment, license, or other benefit based on information in the criminal history record.?

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record check
will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of federal
statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the National
Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council .

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal history record
for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to provide you a copy of the
record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting fingerprints and a fee to the FBI.
Information regarding this process may be obtained at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-
history-summary-checks

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record, you
should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to the FBI.
Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI. The FBI will then forward your
challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information and request the agency to verify
or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication from that agency, the FBI
will make any necessary changes/corrections to your record in accordance with the information
supplied by that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.) You can find additional information on
the FBI website at https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks

1 Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification

2 https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement

3See 28 CFR 50.12(b) 4 See U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. §
14616), Article IV(c)

4See U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. § 14616), Article IV(c)


https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement

State of California

REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE
BCII 8016 (04/2020)

Applicant Submission

APPLICANT

SECTION 1

ORI: A0462
(Code assigned by DOJ)

Type of License: (Mark Only ONE)
[0 Marriage and Family Therapist
[0 Educational Psychologist

Type of Application: LIC/CERT/PERMIT

[ Clinical Social Worker

[0 Professional Clinical Counselor

SECTION 2

Agency Authorized to Receive Criminal Record

Information:

Board of Behavioral Sciences
1625 North Market Blvd. Suite S-200

Mail Code: 01484

Contact Name: Fingerprint Unit
Contact Phone: (916) 574-7859

Sacramento CA 95834
SECTION 3
Name of Applicant:

(Please Print) Last First Mi
Alias: : Driver’s License No.:

Last First

Date of Birth: Sex: [1 Male [] Female  Biling No.: APPLICANT MUST PAY
Height: Weight: Address:
Eye Color: Hair Color:
Place of Birth: Number and Street

Social Security Number:

BBS File Number:

If Resubmission, list Original ATl No.:

(Must provide proof of rejection)

City State Zip

BBS Applicant: Please mail a copy of this
form to the address in Section 2 with your
BBS application.

Level of Service: DOJ FBI

| have received and read the included Privacy Notice, Privacy Act Statement and Applicant’s Privacy Rights.

Applicant Signature: Date:
SECTION 4
Live Scan Transaction Completed By: Date:
Transmitting Agency: LSID:
ATI No.: Amount Collected/Billed:

ORIGINAL - Live Scan Operator SECOND COPY — Requesting Agency THIRD COPY - Applicant
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