
       
 

 
  

 
 

 
  

 

  
    

 

 

       

       
   

    
 

 
      

    

 
  

   

  

    
  

     

    
 

    

   
 

 
 

   
    

  

    
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA – BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor 

Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

(916) 574-7830 
www.bbs.ca.gov 

LICENSED MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

Path B 
OUT-OF-STATE or OUT-OF-COUNTRY Applicants 

Use this Path B application* if either of the following apply to you: 

 You are licensed as an LMFT in another state and do not meet all of the 
requirements to apply under Path A 

 You have an out-of-state or out-of-country degree AND do NOT hold a 
California Associate Registration* 

Thank you for your interest in becoming a California Licensed Marriage and 
Family Therapist (LMFT). This packet contains the following: 

1. Application Selector and 7. Experience Verification (Out-of-State) 
Overview of Licensure Process 

8. Degree Program Certification Form 
2. Application Instructions (Out-of-State) 

3. Application Checklist 9. Degree Program Worksheet (Out-of-
Country) 

4. Important Information for 
Applicants 10. Instructions for Live Scan 

Fingerprinting and Request for Live 
5. Application for Licensure Scan Service Form 
6. Verification of Out-of-State 

License or Registration 

Please read the Guide to Requirements for Out-of-State LMFT Applicants for 
more information about licensure requirements. 

*If you are currently registered as an Associate in California, you may instead submit 
an In-State Application for Licensure. 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_oos_req_chart_01012016.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_oos_req_chart_01012016.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/mftapp.pdf
www.bbs.ca.gov


LMFT Out-of-State/Out-of-Country Application 

Selector and Overview of Licensure Process 

This is a summary. For a full description of licensure requirements, see Statutes and Regulations. 

I have an out-of-state or 
out-of-country degree

and need to obtain 3,000 
hours of supervised work

experience 

Submit the AMFT Out-of-
State/Out-of-Country Application 
Click Here for AMFT Application 

Once you receive an AMFT 
registration you may apply to take 

the CA Law and Ethics Exam, 
which you must take prior to 

renewing your AMFT registration 

After obtaining 3,000 hours of 
qualifying experience and 

completing Additional Coursework 
you may submit the 

LMFT In-State Application 
Click Here for LMFT Application 

Once your LMFT application is 
approved and you have passed 

the Law and Ethics Exam you will 
be eligible to sit for the California 

LMFT Clinical Exam 

I have an out-of-state or out-of-
country degree and already have 

3,000 hours of qualifying 
supervised work experience OR 
I am licensed as an LMFT at the 

highest level in the U.S. 

Submit the LMFT Out-of-State/Out-of-
Country Application (Path A or Path B) 

Click Here for Path A Application 
Click Here for Path B Application 

Path A 
Once approved you will 
be eligible to sit for the 

CA Law and Ethics 
Exam 

Take and pass 
the CA Law 
and Ethics 

Exam 

Take and pass 
the CA Law and 

Ethics Exam 

Path B 
Once approved you will 
be eligible to sit for the 

CA Law and Ethics 
Exam 

After you pass the appropriate exams 
submit your Request for Initial License 
Issuance to receive your LMFT license 

Click Here for Request for Initial 
License Issuance 

Revised 08/2023 

Apply to take the California 
LMFT Clinical Exam 

Click Here for the Initial LMFT 
Clinical Exam Application  

 

 

 

  

   

 
  

    
 

   
  

 
 

 

  
  

 
  

   
  

 

   

   

 
   

   
 

   
  

  
 

  
   

   

   
   

 

 
 

  
 

 

 
 
 

 

 
 

  
 

 

 
 

 

 
  

    
  

 

  
  

   

 
 

 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/mftapp_oos_01012016.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/mftapp_oos_path_b.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/mftapp.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_clinical_exam_app.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_clinical_exam_app.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/initial_lic_iss.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/initial_lic_iss.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/imfapp_oos_01012016.pdf
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
LICENSED MARRIAGE 
AND FAMILY THERAPIST 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 

PATH B – Licensure via Education and Experience 
Out-of-State and Out-of-Country Applicants 

 
READ CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING YOUR APPLICATION 

 
Submit your completed application to: Board of Behavioral Sciences 
 1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200 
 Sacramento, CA 95834 
 
 Use only one clip to hold your application and fee together. Staples and paperclips interfere 

with your application being scanned.  

 Do not attach multiple applications together. Each application should be clipped separately 
or provided in separate envelopes with a separate fee attached to each. 

 
 

 Avoid delays! Use the included Application Checklist and read all instructions closely. 
This will help you submit a complete application and avoid deficiencies. 

 

EXPEDITED REVIEW 

The Board will expedite the licensure process for the following applicants who meet the 
qualifications specified on the forms linked below (all expedite forms are available at 
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicants>LMFT>Forms/Pubs): 

• Active-duty military members. Download the form here and include it ON TOP OF your 
application. 

• Honorably Discharged Veterans of the U.S. Armed Forces pursuant to Business and 
Professions Code (BPC) section 115.4. Download the request form from the Board’s website 
and include it ON TOP OF your application. 

• Spouses/Partners of Persons on Active Duty Military pursuant to BPC section 115.5. A 
$250 application fee waiver is also available to these applicants. Download the request form 
from the Board’s website and include it ON TOP OF your application. 

• Refugees / Asylees / Special Immigrant Status Holders ("SI" or "SQ") pursuant to BPC 
section 135.4. Download the request form from the Board’s website and include it ON TOP 
OF your application. 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/military_active_exp.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/military_veteran_expedite_37m-471.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/military_veteran_expedite_37m-471.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/military_spouse_fee_waiver_expedite.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/refugee_exp_request.pdf
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PROOF OF RECEIPT OF APPLICATION 

If you would like to know whether the Board has received your application, you will need to mail 
your application using a method that includes tracking. You can also check with the bank to see if 
your check or money order has been cashed by the Board. 

A. APPLICATION FORM 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

• Complete all sections of the Application for Licensure. The 
application may be typed or completed in ink. 

• Sign the application in ink (wet signature) or electronically. An 
electronic signature will be accepted if completed via an electronic 
signature platform such as Adobe Sign or DocuSign which 
ensures security and authenticity. 

• You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name 
established legally by your birth certificate, marriage or domestic 
partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example). 

• Name Change: If you have registered with the Board previously 
and have changed your legal name without notifying the Board, 
submit a Notification of Name Change form with your application 
packet along with the required documentation (access at 
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/change_name.pdf). 

• Email Address:  Provide your email address if you have one. This 
address is not subject to public disclosure. 

Completed and signed 
Application for 
Licensure – Path B 
 

 
  

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/change_name.pdf
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B. FEES 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

Carefully read the information below to determine your fees. 
Incorrect submission will delay your application.  
If you need clarification, contact bbs.lmft@dca.ca.gov prior to 
submission.  
 
1. If you have NEVER been issued a registration or license 

with the BBS: 

Attach a $400.00 check or money order to your application, made 
payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund. The $400.00 fee consists of a 
$250.00 application fee and a $150.00 California Law and Ethics Exam 
fee. The application fee is an earned fee for evaluation of your 
application and is NOT REFUNDABLE. 
 
2. If you HAVE been issued a registration or license with the 

BBS at any time in the past: 

a. If you have ALREADY PASSED the California Law and Ethics 
Exam:  
Attach a $250 check or money order to your application, made 
payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund. This is an earned fee for 
the evaluation of your application and is NOT REFUNDABLE. 

b. If you have NOT yet passed the California Law and Ethics Exam:  
Submit BOTH of the following (i and ii below): 

i. Attach a $250.00 check or money order to your application, 
made payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund. This is an 
earned fee for the evaluation of your application and is NOT 
REFUNDABLE. 

*AND*  

ii. Apply online to take California Law and Ethics Exam ($150 fee 
to submit online at: www.breeze.ca.gov). 

 
 
 

 
1. Attach a $400.00 

check or money order 
payable to the 
Behavioral Sciences 
Fund 

 
 
 
2. Attach a $250 check 

or money order 
payable to the 
Behavioral Sciences 
Fund 
AND  
(if you have NOT 
passed the Law and 
Ethics Exam): 

Apply for the Law 
and Ethics Exam 
($150 fee to submit 
online at 
www.breeze.ca.gov) 

Out-of-State Fingerprinting Fee: 

Attach a $49 fee if ONLY you are submitting fingerprint “hard cards” 
due to being fingerprinted outside of California (see next page for 
details). 

If submitting fingerprint 
“hard cards” also attach 
a $49 check or money 
order payable to the 
Behavioral Sciences 
Fund 

  

mailto:bbs.lmft@dca.ca.gov
http://www.breeze.ca.gov/
https://www.breeze.ca.gov/datamart/mainMenu.do
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C. FINGERPRINTS 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

 Disregard this section if you are currently registered with the 
BBS as an Associate 

NOTE:  IF YOU ARE APPLYING FOR BOTH LPCC AND LMFT 
LICENSURE YOU ONLY NEED TO SUBMIT ONE SET OF 
FINGERPRINTS. 

The Board requires a Department of Justice (DOJ) and Federal Bureau 
of Investigation (FBI) criminal history background check on all applicants. 
 
If you currently reside in California:   
Read the Instructions for Live Scan Fingerprinting and complete the 
Request for Live Scan Service form included in this application packet. 

• The information on this form must match the information you 
provide on your application. 

• DO NOT COMPLETE FINGERPRINTS MORE THAN 60 DAYS 
PRIOR TO SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION. Fingerprint results 
without an application on file will only be held for 6 months. 

 
If you currently reside out of state:   
You must use the "hard card" fingerprint method unless you can access 
a California Live Scan Service operator. To request fingerprint hard 
cards, send an email to BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.gov with "Fingerprint 
Hard Cards" in the subject line, and we will mail them to you.  

• YOU MUST SUBMIT YOUR TWO COMPLETED FINGERPRINT 
CARDS TO THE BOARD WITH YOUR APPLICATION. 

• Sending fingerprint cards and the $49 fee separate from your 
application will cause a delay with the approval of your 
application. 

• DOJ processing time for hard card fingerprints is 8 or more weeks. 

 
 

 

 
If you currently reside 
in California:  Submit 
the second copy of 
your completed 
Request for Live Scan 
Service Applicant 
Submission form 
 
 
 
If you currently reside 
out of state:  
Submit two completed 
fingerprint hard cards 
(FBI and DOJ)  
AND a $49 check or 
money order payable 
to the Behavioral 
Sciences Fund WITH 
YOUR APPLICATION 

 
  

mailto:BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.gov
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D. DEGREE REQUIREMENTS AND REMEDIATION 

Instructions Document(s) Required 
 
You must possess a master’s or doctorate degree from a school that 
holds a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the 
U.S. Department of Education (USDE) or a school approved by the 
California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) (see 
section G for requirements if your degree was obtained outside of the 
United States or its territories). 
 
MARRIAGE, FAMILY AND CHILD COUNSELING / MARITAL AND 
FAMILY SYSTEMS APPROACH 

Your degree must contain 12 semester units or 18 quarter units in 
marriage, family and child counseling and marital and family systems 
approach, containing all of the following content: 

• Theories, principles, and methods of a variety of psychotherapeutic 
orientations directly related to marriage and family therapy, and 
marital and family systems approaches to treatment. 

• How these theories can be applied therapeutically with couples, 
families, adults, elder adults, children, adolescents and groups to 
improve, restore, or maintain healthy relationships. 

If your degree does not contain the above content and units, your 
degree does not qualify for licensure. 

 
OVERALL UNITS 

Your degree must contain a minimum of 48 semester units or 72 quarter 
units. If not, your degree does not qualify for licensure. 

• Additional unit requirement for applicants who began graduate 
study on or after August 1, 2012 OR whose degree award date 
was after December 31, 2018: 

Your degree must contain a minimum of 48 semester units or 72 quarter 
units. However, a total of 60 semester units or 90 quarter units of 
graduate coursework is required. If your degree contains LESS than 60 
semester units or 90 quarter units, you must complete graduate level 
coursework to remediate this deficiency (a maximum of 12 semester 
units or 18 quarter units of instruction may be remediated). Units 
can be gained while registered as an Associate but must be remediated 
before the Board can approve your Application for Licensure.  
 
Remediated units must be taken at the graduate level from a school that 
holds a regional or national institutional accreditation that is recognized 
by the USDE, or a school approved by the BPPE. CE courses will not 
be accepted. 

 

Official transcript(s) 
with degree title and 
date of conferral 
posted (see section E 
for transcript 
requirements) 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Remediated Units (if 
applicable): 
Official transcript(s) 
verifying remediated 
units (see section E for 
transcript 
requirements) 
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D. DEGREE REQUIREMENTS AND REMEDIATION (continued) 

Instructions Document(s) Required 
 

PRACTICUM: 
• Applicants licensed as an MFT at the highest level for 

independent clinical practice in another state or country, and 
whose license is current and in good standing:   
The practicum requirement is waived. 

• All other applicants: 
Your degree must contain at least 6 semester units or 9 quarter units 
of supervised practicum which included at least 225 hours of face-to-
face experience counseling individuals, couples, families or groups 
(the 225 hours may include up to 75 hours of client-centered 
advocacy). If not, your degree does not qualify for licensure. 

See prior page 

 
E. OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

Provide official sealed transcript(s) as described below for all of the 
following: 

• Transcripts verifying your master’s or doctorate degree, including 
degree title and date of conferral (Not required if currently 
registered as an Associate). 

• Transcripts verifying any transferred in units from your bachelor’s 
degree, another in-school graduate program or from an outside 
school (Not required if currently registered as an Associate). 

• Transcripts verifying any remediated coursework. 

Transcripts must be provided either IN AN ENVELOPE SEALED BY 
YOUR SCHOOL or be emailed BY YOUR SCHOOL to the Board at 
BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov. 

• For questions about electronic submission, see FAQ (available 
at www.bbs.ca.gov>Updates/FAQs>FAQs). 

Official transcript(s) with 
degree title and date of 
conferral posted 

Official transcript(s) for 
all transferred in or 
remediated coursework 
(if applicable) 

ALL TRANSCRIPTS 
MUST BE EMAILED TO 
THE BOARD BY THE 
SCHOOL OR PROVIDED 
IN AN ENVELOPE 
SEALED BY THE 
SCHOOL  

 
  

mailto:BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov
https://bbs.ca.gov/pdf/electronic_transcripts.pdf


DCA BBS 37A-319B (Revised 03/2025) 7 State of California 

F. DEGREE PROGRAM CERTIFICATION – DEGREE OBTAINED WITHIN THE U.S. 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

 Disregard this section if you are currently registered with the 
BBS as an Associate OR have a degree from outside of the 
U.S. or its territories 

Provide an Out-of-State Degree Program Certification completed and 
signed by your school’s Chief Academic Officer or authorized 
designee. NOTE:  The Board strongly recommends obtaining a copy 
of the completed form prior to sending in your application to ensure 
that your degree meets all requirements. 

Must be in an envelope SEALED BY YOUR SCHOOL or emailed BY 
YOUR SCHOOL to BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov.  
 
In addition, if your school accepted any transferred-in units, the school 
must attach a letter of explanation identifying those courses and 
describing how they were applied to your degree program. 

Out-of-State Degree 
Program Certification 
form 

Letter of explanation 
from school for 
transferred-in units (if 
applicable) 

MUST BE EMAILED BY 
THE SCHOOL TO THE 
BOARD OR PROVIDED 
IN A SEALED 
ENVELOPE AS 
DIRECTED 

 
G. DEGREE OBTAINED OUTSIDE OF THE UNITED STATES 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

 Disregard this section if you are currently registered with the 
BBS as an Associate 

If you have a degree or other education earned outside of the United 
States or its territories, you must have your education evaluated to 
determine equivalency by a foreign credential evaluation service that 
is a member of the National Association of Credential Evaluation 
Services (www.naces.org).  

The evaluation must be in an envelope SEALED BY THE 
EVALUATING AGENCY or emailed BY THE AGENCY to 
BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov.  
 
You will also be required to submit an official transcript as described 
in section E. 

The Board has the authority to make the final determination as to 
whether a degree meets all requirements, including, but not limited 
to, course requirements regardless of evaluation or accreditation. 
 
Suggestion:   
Complete the Out-of-Country Degree Program Worksheet to help 
determine whether your degree will qualify prior to paying a service for 
an evaluation. 

Degree evaluation by a 
foreign credential 
evaluation service (if 
applicable) 

MUST BE IN AN 
ENVELOPE SEALED BY 
THE EVALUATING 
AGENCY OR EMAILED 
BY THE AGENCY TO 
THE BOARD AS 
DIRECTED 

 

 
Out-of-Country Degree 
Program Worksheet 
(optional but strongly 
recommended) 

 

mailto:BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov
http://www.naces.org/
mailto:BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov
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H. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE 

Determine Your Experience Requirements: Requirements 

 I am licensed as an LMFT at the highest level for independent clinical 
practice in another state or country that requires at least 3,000 hours of 
supervised experience OR 

 I am licensed as an LMFT at the highest level for independent clinical 
practice in a state or country that requires less than 3,000 hours of 
supervised experience, and I am able to fully make up the deficit using 
time actively licensed in good standing as an LMFT (maximum 1,200 
hours). 

You are not required to 
provide verification of 
experience. Skip to 
section I. 

 I am licensed as an LMFT at the highest level for independent clinical 
practice in a state or country that requires less than 3,000 hours of 
supervised experience, and I am making up the deficit using time actively 
licensed in good standing as an LMFT, but it is not enough to total 3,000 
hours OR 

 I am not licensed as an LMFT in another state or country at the highest 
level for independent clinical practice. 

You must provide 
verification of 
experience to reach a 
total of 3,000 hours. 
Follow the instructions 
provided below. 

Instructions for Applicants Who Must Submit Verification of Experience Document(s) Required 
 
Instructions for Experience Gained OUTSIDE of California 
NOTE:  If additional hours are needed and will be gained in California, 
you must first register as an Associate and comply with all requirements 
for hours gained in California (access the application at 
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LMFT). 

You must submit verification of substantially equivalent supervised 
experience to reach a total of 3,000 hours and 104 weeks as described 
below: 

• Direct counseling experience with individuals, groups, couples or 
families (Minimum 1,750 hours). A minimum of 500 of these hours 
must be diagnosing and treating couples, families and children. 

• Non-clinical experience (Maximum 1,250 hours). May consist of 
direct supervisor contact, administering and evaluating psychological 
tests, writing clinical reports, writing progress or process notes, client 
centered advocacy, and workshops, seminars, training sessions, or 
conferences directly related to marriage, family, and child counseling. 

• Up to 1,300 hours are allowed to have been gained pre-degree, but 
of those hours, only 750 hours of direct counseling experience can 
be accepted. 

• Experience must have been gained within the six (6) years prior to 
the Board’s receipt of your California Application for Licensure, with 
the exception of up to 500 practicum hours. 

See next page 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/imfapp_oos_01012016.pdf
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H. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE (continued) 

Instructions for Applicants Who Must Submit Verification of Experience Document(s) Required 
 
Instructions for Experience Gained OUTSIDE of California (continued) 

• If the state or country in which your hours were earned required a 
registration or license in order to gain experience, you must have been 
registered or licensed during the time you earned your hours. 

• Experience must have been supervised by a licensed mental health 
professional who met ALL of the following qualifications: 

o Licensed in the state or country where the hours were earned at 
the highest level for independent practice as a LCSW, LMFT, 
LPCC, Licensed Psychologist or Board-Certified Psychiatrist; and 

o Licensed as one of the above for at least two years prior to the 
commencement of supervision; and 

o License was active and in good standing at the time your hours 
were earned. 

o If your experience was earned outside of the U.S. or its territories, 
your supervisor must also meet the following qualifications: 
 The supervisor’s license was issued by a government 

regulatory body; and 
 The supervisor’s license was issued by the country where the 

hours were earned; and 
 The supervisor completed post-degree supervised experience 

in order to get their license; and 
 The supervisor took a licensing exam recognized by their 

country’s regulatory body; and 
 The supervisor holds at least a master’s degree in a mental 

health discipline recognized by the Board.  

• Submit signed Out-of-State or Out-of-Country Experience Verification 
form(s). Use a separate form for each supervisor and each employer. 

• Submit a Verification of License in Another State or Country form to 
verify your supervisor’s license if the state or country in which your 
supervisor is licensed does NOT have a public online license lookup. 
The verification form must be emailed BY THE LICENSING AGENCY to 
the Board at BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov or submitted in an envelope 
SEALED BY THE LICENSING AGENCY. 
o If your supervisor was licensed in another country, you must 

provide a completed Verification of License form as described 
above OR a copy of your supervisor’s license. If the verification 
form or license is not in English, provide a copy in the original 
language and a copy translated into English. 

 
 
 
Signed Out-of-State 
Experience 
Verification form(s) 
 

Verification(s) of 
supervisor’s license in 
an envelope SEALED 
BY THE LICENSING 
AGENCY OR 
EMAILED BY THE 
AGENCY AS 
DIRECTED (if 
applicable) 
 

mailto:BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov
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H. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE (continued) 

Instructions for Applicants Who Must Submit Verification of Experience Document(s) Required 
 
Instructions for Experience Gained WITHIN California 

EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION:  Submit signed In-State Experience 
Verification form(s), available on the Board’s website (access at 
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LMFT>Forms/Pubs). Use separate In-State 
Experience Verification forms for each supervisor and each employer. All 
versions of the Experience Verification forms will be accepted. Do not 
submit Weekly Log forms unless requested. 

W-2s / CHECK STUB FOR CURRENT YEAR (ONLY required for post-
degree experience):  If you were a paid employee while gaining hours, you 
must submit a copy of your W-2 for each year you are claiming, and for 
each employer. If your W-2 is not available, you must obtain a duplicate. If 
a W-2 is not available for the current year, attach a copy of a current pay 
stub. If your W-2 does not match the name of your employer listed on the 
experience verification form, an explanation is required. If you are 
submitting a 1099 form in accordance with BPC section 4980.43.3(h), an 
explanation is required. 
 
VOLUNTEER LETTER (ONLY required for post-degree experience):  If you 
volunteered while gaining hours, a signed letter from your employer is 
required indicating your voluntary status on your employer’s letterhead. A 
sample letter is available on the Board’s website (access at 
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LMFT>Forms/Pubs). The letter must state the 
time frame (date range) during which you volunteered. 
 
SUPERVISOR RESPONSIBILITY STATEMENTS OR SUPERVISION 
AGREEMENT:  Submit a signed Supervisor Responsibility Statement or 
Supervision Agreement for each supervisor. 

WRITTEN OVERSIGHT AGREEMENT:  Submit a signed and dated written 
oversight agreement for each supervisor and each employer, if applicable. 
See BPC section 4980.43.4 to determine whether required. See sample 
letter online (access at www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LMFT> Forms/Pubs). 

 
Signed In-State 
Experience 
Verification form(s) 

 
Copies of W-2 
Form(s) / Check stub 
for current year 

 
Signed Volunteer 
Letter(s) (if 
applicable) 

 
Signed Supervisor 
Responsibility 
Statement(s) OR 
Supervision 
Agreement(s) 

Signed Written 
Oversight 
Agreement(s) (if 
applicable) 
 

 
  

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_expver_37a-301_option1.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=4980.43.3.
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_sample_verification_volunteer.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=4980.43.4.
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/sample_written_oversight_agreement.pdf
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I. VERIFICATION OF LICENSE OR REGISTRATION IN ANOTHER STATE OR COUNTRY 
Instructions Document(s) Required 

• A Verification of License or Registration in Another State or Country 
form for your marriage and family therapist license or registration is 
required if the state or country in which you are licensed does NOT 
have a public online license lookup that contains information on 
disciplinary actions. The verification form must be EMAILED BY THE 
LICENSING AGENCY to the Board at BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov; or 
submitted in an ENVELOPE SEALED BY THE LICENSING AGENCY. 

• If you are licensed in another country, you must provide a completed 
Verification of License form as described above OR a copy of your 
license. If the verification form or license is not in English, provide a copy 
in the original language and a copy translated into English. 

Verification of License 
or Registration (if 
applicable) 

MUST BE EMAILED BY 
THE LICENSING 
AGENCY TO THE 
BOARD OR PROVIDED 
IN AN ENVELOPE 
SEALED BY THE 
AGENCY (if no public 
online lookup) 

 
J. CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS COURSE 

Instructions Document(s) 
Required 

 Disregard this section if you are currently registered with the BBS 
as an Associate 

If your degree contains a 2 semester unit or 3 quarter unit course on 
Law and Ethics: 
Attach proof of completing a 12-hour California course from a school that 
holds a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the 
USDE, a school approved by the California BPPE, or an acceptable CE 
provider. The course must cover all of the following topics: 
Advertising, scope of practice, scope of competence, treatment of 
minors, confidentiality, dangerous patients, psychotherapist-patient 
privilege, recordkeeping, patient access to records, state and federal 
laws relating to confidentiality of patient health information, dual 
relationships, child abuse, elder and dependent adult abuse, online 
therapy, insurance reimbursement, civil liability, disciplinary actions 
and unprofessional conduct, ethics complaints and ethical standards, 
termination of therapy, standards of care, relevant family law, therapist 
disclosures to patients, the application of legal and ethical standards in 
different types of work settings, and licensing law and licensing 
process. 

 

If your degree does NOT contain a 2 semester unit or 3 quarter unit 
course on Law and Ethics:   
Attach proof of completing a 2 semester unit or 3 quarter unit California 
Law and Ethics course. The course may be taken from a school that holds 
a regional or national institutional accreditation recognized by the USDE, 
or a school approved by the BPPE. A CE course will not be accepted. 

Proof of completion 
of California Law and 
Ethics course 
 
(Not required if 
currently registered 
as an Associate) 
 
NOTE:  This is a 
SEPARATE 
requirement from the 
Law and Ethics Exam 

mailto:BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/licensees/cont_ed.html
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/licensees/cont_ed.html
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K. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

The courses listed below and on the next page must be completed prior to 
approval of your Application for Licensure. A course description or 
syllabus will be required if the course content is not easily identifiable by 
the course title.  
 
Note:  If you have already submitted proof of completion with an Associate 
application, it is not necessary for you to resubmit. 
 
See the Board’s website for more information on acceptable course 
providers (access at www.bbs.ca.gov >Licensees>Continuing 
Education>Where to find CE Courses). 

Proof of completion of 
all additional 
coursework listed 
below 

 
Note: 1 semester unit = 15 hours; 1 quarter unit = 10 hours; 1 semester unit = 1.5 quarter units 

 
COURSE LENGTH CONTENT REQUIRED 
a) Suicide Risk Assessment and 

Intervention 
6 hours of coursework 
or applied experience 

See pages 11-13 of the 
Guide to Out-of-State 
Applicant Requirements for 
ALL course content 
requirements  

b) Mental Health Recovery Oriented Care 
and Methods of Service Delivery 

45 hours or 3 
semester units 

(access at 
www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant 
>LMFT) 

c) California Cultures and the Social and 
Psychological Implications of 
Socioeconomic Position 

15 hours or 1 
semester unit 

 

d)  Diagnosis, Assessment, Prognosis 
and Treatment of Mental Disorders 

2 semester units  

e) Psychological Testing 15 hours or 1 
semester unit 

 

f) Psychopharmacology 15 hours or 1 
semester unit 

 

Continued on next page  

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/licensees/cont_ed.html
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_oos_req_chart_01012016.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_oos_req_chart_01012016.pdf
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K. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK (continued) 

COURSE LENGTH CONTENT REQUIRED 
g) Developmental Issues from 

Infancy to Old Age 
15 hours or 1 semester 

unit 
See pages 11-13 of the 
Guide to Out-of-State 
Applicant Requirements for 
ALL course content 
requirements  

h) Child Abuse Assessment and 
Reporting in California 

7 hours (access at www.bbs.ca.gov> 
Applicant>LMFT) 

i) Aging, Long Term Care and 
Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse, 
End-of-Life and Grief 

10 hours 
 

j) Spousal/Partner Abuse 
Assessment, Detection and 
Intervention 

15 hours  

k) Multicultural Development and 
Cross-Cultural Interaction 

15 hours or 1 semester 
unit 

 

l) Human Sexuality 10 hours  

m) Substance Use Disorders 15 hours  

n) Co-Occurring Disorders and 
Addiction 

15 hours  

o) Miscellaneous Content No specific number of 
hours required, but all 

content must be 
adequately covered 
within coursework 

See Out-of-State Guide at 
the link above. 

 
  

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_oos_req_chart_01012016.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_oos_req_chart_01012016.pdf
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L. EXAMINATIONS 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

You must pass the California Law and Ethics Examination and the 
California LMFT Clinical Examination. You will be eligible to take 
your initial exam after your Application for Licensure has been 
approved. Apply online to take California Law and Ethics Exam at: 
www.breeze.ca.gov. 
 
NOTE:  If you are currently registered as an Associate or have 
ever held a license with the Board, you can take the Law and 
Ethics exam at any time. 

None at this time 

 
M. APPLY FOR INITIAL LICENSE ISSUANCE 

Instructions Document(s) Required 

After you have met all requirements for licensure, you must submit a 
Request for Initial License Issuance and $200 initial licensure fee 
(access at www.bbs.ca.gov>Applicant>LMFT>Forms/Pubs) 

Do not submit the form or fee until you have passed both exams 
– if you submit it too early it will be rejected. 

AFTER you pass BOTH 
exams, submit a Request for 
Initial License Issuance and 
$200 fee 

 

http://www.breeze.ca.gov/
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/initial_lic_iss.pdf


   
  

 

 

  

   
     

        

  

     

        
    

         

     

        
   

       

    

       

  
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
LICENSED MARRIAGE 
AND FAMILY THERAPIST 

APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
Path B – Licensure via Education and Experience 

Out-of-State and Out-of-Country Applicants 

Avoid application deficiencies! 
Carefully read the preceding Application Instructions to ensure all 

requirements are met pertaining to the documents listed below: 

☐ Completed Application (form number 37A-303B). 

☐ Official sealed transcript(s) with degree title and date of conferral posted* 

☐ Official sealed transcript(s) (if applicable) for: (1) all courses transferred into your 
degree program*; and (2) any remediated coursework* 

☐ Letter of explanation from your school re: any transferred-in units (if applicable)* 

☐ Sealed Out-of-State Degree Program Certification (form no. 37A-599)* 

☐ If Degree was Earned Outside of the United States: Evaluation of Degree (and 
optional Degree Program Worksheet)* 

☐ Proof of completion of California Law and Ethics course* 

☐ Proof of completion of Additional Coursework 

☐ Sealed Verification of License or Registration in Another State or Country (if 
applicable) 

☐ Out-of-State Experience Verification forms and Verification of Supervisor’s 
License (if applicable) 



 

      
      

      
    

        

       

 

☐ In-State Experience Verification forms and related documents listed on page 
10 of the Application Instructions (if applicable) 

☐ Completed Request for Live Scan Service form* OR 
Two completed fingerprint “hard cards” with the $49 fingerprint card processing 
fee (check or money order payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund)* 

☐ Fee(s) payable to the Behavioral Sciences Fund. 

*Not required if currently registered with the BBS as an Associate 



      

  
  

   
 

 
   

 

  

 
 

 
 

  

 
 

 
  

  

  

   
 

    

   
 

  
   

   
    

 
  

Important Information for 
LICENSED MARRIAGE 
AND FAMILY THERAPIST 
APPLICANTS 

1. AVOID LOSING EXPERIENCE HOURS AND INCURRING ADDITIONAL FEES BY 
MEETING THE TIME FRAMES BELOW 

An application shall be deemed abandoned, meaning your file will be closed, in any of the 
circumstances described below. File closure could have major consequences, including 
the loss of experience hours more than six (6) years old at the time of re-application. 
To re-open an abandoned (closed) application, you must submit a new application, fee, and 
all required documentation, as well as meet all current licensure requirements in effect at the 
time the new application is submitted. 

• You do not submit evidence that you have cleared the deficiencies specified in the 
deficiency letter within one (1) year from the date of the initial deficiency letter; or 

• You fail to sit for examination within one (1) year after being notified of eligibility; or 

• You fail to pay the initial license fee within one (1) year after notification by the Board 
of successful completion of examination requirements. 

2. WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE BOARD EVALUATES MY APPLICATION? 

Once the Board evaluates your application, you will receive one of the following: 

• A notice describing any deficiencies in your application OR 

• A notice of eligibility to take your required examination(s), including information on how 
to register for the examination(s). 

o In-State and “Path B” Out-of-State Applicants: You will not be eligible to take the 
LMFT California Clinical Exam until you have passed the LMFT California Law and 
Ethics Exam. See Application Instructions in this packet for more information. 

The examinations contain objective multiple-choice questions and are offered at locations 
throughout California and in other states. Upon receipt of your notice of eligibility, it is your 
responsibility to contact the testing administrator to schedule your examination. Further 
information about the examination process is provided on the Board’s website (access at 
www.bbs.ca.gov/exams). 

DCA BBS 37A-317 (Revised 05/2024) 1 State of California 
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3. REQUEST FOR TESTING ACCOMMODATION – DISABILITY OR ENGLISH IS 
YOUR SECOND LANGUAGE 

Refer to the Board’s website for information on how to apply for testing accommodations 
(access at https://www.bbs.ca.gov/exams). 

4. NONDISCRIMINATION AND ADA COORDINATOR 

The Executive Officer of the Board has been designated to coordinate and carry out the 
Board’s compliance with the nondiscrimination requirements of Title II of the Americans 
with Disabilities Act (ADA). Information concerning the provisions of the ADA, and the 
rights provided hereunder, are available from the ADA coordinator. 

5. PUBLIC ADDRESS 

The address you enter on your application is public information and will be placed on the 
Internet pursuant to BPC section 27. If you do not want your home or work address 
available to the public, use an alternate mailing address such as a post office box. Email 
addresses are not subject to public disclosure. 

6. EMAIL ADDRESS AND PUBLIC ADDRESS CHANGES 

You are required to maintain a current mailing address with the Board. You are also 
required to maintain a current email address with the Board if you have one. When you 
have a change in your mailing or email address, be sure to update it ASAP online at 
www.breeze.ca.gov. 

7. STATUTES AND REGULATIONS 

To obtain a copy of the Board’s Statutes and Regulations, please access it from the 
Board’s website. 

8. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR OTHER TAXPAYER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 

Disclosure of your tax identification number on your application is mandatory. You may 
provide either your Social Security Number, Federal Employer Identification Number, or 
Individual Taxpayer Identification Number, as applicable. Section 30 of the Business and 
Professions Code and Public Law 94-455 (42 USCA 405 (c) (2) (c)) authorizes collection 
of these tax identification numbers. Your tax identification number will not be deemed a 
public record and shall not be open to the public. Your tax identification number will be 
used exclusively for tax enforcement purposes, for purposes of compliance with any 
judgment or order for family support in accordance with section 17520 of the Family 
Code, or for verification of licensure or examination status by a licensing or examination 
entity which utilizes a national examination and where licensure is reciprocal with the 

DCA BBS 37A-317 (Revised 05/2024) 2 State of California 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/exams/lpcc.html
http://www.breeze.ca.gov/
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/exams


      

 
   

 
  

 
   

   
 

        
   

 
 

  
 

 
 

    
 

requesting state. If you fail to disclose your tax identification number, your application 
for initial or renewal license will not be processed AND you will be reported to the 
Franchise Tax Board, which may assess a $100 penalty against you. 

9. STATE TAX OBLIGATION 

Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 31(e), the State Board of 
Equalization and the Franchise Tax Board may share taxpayer information with the 
Board. If a licensee or registrant does not pay their state tax obligation, the individual’s 
license or registration may be suspended. 

10. NOTICE OF COLLECTION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION: 

Please see the Notice on Collection of Personal Information (access at 
www.bbs.ca.gov>About Us>About the Board>Other Information>Policies). 

11. QUESTIONS? 

Please visit the Contact Us link at www.bbs.ca.gov and select an option under 
“Message the Board.” 

DCA BBS 37A-317 (Revised 05/2024) 3 State of California 

https://bbs.ca.gov/cdn/docs/pi_collection_notice.pdf
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APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
LICENSED MARRIAGE 
AND FAMILY THERAPIST 
Out-of-State Applicant 

APPLICATION FOR PATH B. 
LICENSURE VIA EDUCATION AND EXPERIENCE 

Office Use Only: 

Avoid delays and deficiencies - Carefully read the Application Instructions FIRST 

      

   
  

 
 

    
    

 
    

 

 
  

  
     

   
 

    

    
 

    

 
 

  
 

  
 

 
   

 
 

   
 

 
  

  
  

 
 

FEE:  Attach fee in the amount specified in the Application Instructions. 

SSN or ITIN* Birth Date:  mm/dd/yyyy E-Mail Address 

Legal Name**   Last First Middle 

Public Address of Record*** Number and Street 

City State Zip Code Phone 

If you have ever been known by another name, list the full name(s) and dates of use below 
(attach any additional names and dates): 

Full Name Dates of Use (from/to) 

Full Name Dates of Use (from/to) 

* Disclosure of your United States tax identification number is mandatory. You may provide either your 
Social Security Number, your Federal Employer Identification Number, or Individual Taxpayer 
Identification Number, as applicable. This number must match the number you provide on your 
fingerprint forms. See Important Information for Applicants for more information about how your tax 
identification number is used. 

** You must use your legal name. Your “legal name” is the name established legally by your birth 
certificate, marriage or domestic partnership certificate, or divorce decree (for example). 

*** The address you enter on this application is public information and will be placed on the Internet 
pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 27. All correspondence from the Board will be 
mailed to this address. If you do not want your home or work address available to the public, use an 
alternate mailing address such as a post office box. 

DCA BBS 37A-661B (Revised 10/2024) Page 1 of 6 State of California 



      

 
             

 

 
 

          
 

 

 
   

 

  
 

 
 

 
   

 
 

    
     

     

     

     

   
 

 
  

 
  

   

  
  

  

     

 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

  

 
  

     

  

 
  

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

1. Have you ever served in the United States Armed Forces or the Yes, Currently No  
California National Guard? (OPTIONAL) Yes, Previously 

2. Have you ever applied for or been issued a license, registration or certificate Yes  No 
to practice marriage and family therapy or any other health care profession 
in California or any other state? 

If YES, provide the information requested below (continue on an additional 
sheet if needed): 

State 
Type of License, Registration 

or Certificate 
License, Registration 
or Certificate Number 

Date 
Issued Status 

3. Within the 7 years preceding your submission of 
this application, were you denied a professional 
health care license (“license” includes 
registrations, certificates, or other means to 
engage in practice) OR had a professional 
health care license or privilege suspended, 
revoked, or otherwise disciplined, OR 
voluntarily surrendered any such license in 
California or any other state or territory of the 
United States, or by any other governmental 
agency or a foreign country? 

Yes No 

If YES, we recommend that you complete the 
Background Statement form, available on the 
Board’s website, to facilitate processing of your 
application. 

We recommend that you answer “Yes” even if 
you have previously reported it to the Board, and 
indicate the type of professional license that was 
denied, suspended, disciplined, or surrendered, 
including the date(s) of the denial, suspension, 
disciplinary action, You do not need to resubmit 
documentation previously on file. 

4. If the state in which you are licensed as a marriage and family therapist Yes No 
does NOT have a public online license lookup that contains information 
on disciplinary actions, have you attached a Verification of License or 

N/A 

Registration form? 

DCA BBS 37A-661B (Revised 10/2024) Page 2 of 6 State of California 
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Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

5. SUPERVISED EXPERIENCE 
Are you required to submit supervised experience hours? 
(see Application Instructions section H to determine) 

Yes  No 

If YES, have you attached the required verification of 
experience? 

Yes  No 

6. DEGREE REQUIREMENTS 
A. Does your degree contain a minimum of 48 semester Yes No

units or 72 quarter units? 
If NO, your degree does not 
qualify 

B. Did you begin your graduate study on or after August 1, 
2012 OR complete graduate study after December 31, 

Yes No 

2018? 

If YES, does your degree contain a minimum of 60 
semester units or 90 quarter units? 

Yes No If NO, see 
Application Instructions 

C. Does your degree FULLY contain a minimum of 12 
semester units or 18 quarter units in Marriage, Family 
and Child Counseling/Marital and Family Systems 

Yes No 

Not sure 
Approach as described in the Application Instructions 
section D? 

If NO, your degree does not 
qualify 

D. Have you submitted all official transcripts as directed in Yes – Sealed Transcripts via Mail 
section E? Yes – Electronic Transcripts 

No 
Previously Submitted 

E. Have you submitted a sealed Degree Program Yes – Sealed Form via Mail 
Certification form as described in Application Instructions 
section F? Yes – Sent Electronically 

No 

Previously Submitted 

DCA BBS 37A-661B (Revised 10/2024) Page 3 of 6 State of California 



      

 
             

 
     

   
  

 

 

       
   

 
   

 
    

  

   

  

  

  

    

   

 
 

 
 

    

  
 

  

  

    

  

  

  

  

  
  

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

7. CALIFORNIA LAW AND ETHICS COURSE (12 Hours) 
Have you attached documentation of completion of the Yes  No 
required 12-hour course in California Law and Ethics as 

Previously Submitted described in the Application Instructions? 

Note:  This is a separate requirement from the 
California Law and Ethics Exam 

8. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK 
List the titles of the courses you have completed and the course providers below. See the Guide to 
LMFT Out-of-State Requirements for information on course content and provider requirements. 
You must submit documentation of completion unless previously submitted. 

a) Suicide Risk Assessment and Intervention (6 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

b) Mental Health Recovery Oriented Care and Methods of Service Delivery (45 hours) 

Course Title: Course Title: 

Provider: Provider: 

Course Title: Course Title: 

Provider: Provider: 

c) California Cultures, and the Social and Psychological Implications of Socioeconomic Position 
(15 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

d) Diagnosis, Assessment, Prognosis and Treatment of Mental Disorders (2 semester units) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

e) Psychological Testing (15 hours or 1 semester unit) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

DCA BBS 37A-661B (Revised 10/2024) Page 4 of 6 State of California 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_oos_req_chart_01012016.pdf
https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/lmft_oos_req_chart_01012016.pdf


      

 

             

 

  
   

  

  

    

  

  

   

  

  

      

  

  

   

  

  

    

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

 
 

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

8. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK (continued) 
f) Psychopharmacology (15 hours or 1 semester unit) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

g) Developmental Issues from Infancy to Old Age (15 hours or 1 semester unit) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

h) Child Abuse Assessment and Reporting in California (7 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

i) Aging, Long Term Care; Elder/Dependent Adult Abuse; End-of-Life and Grief (10 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

j) Spousal or Partner Abuse Assessment, Detection and Intervention (15 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

k) Multicultural Development and Cross-Cultural Interaction (15 hours or 1 semester unit) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

l) Human Sexuality (10 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

m) Substance Use Disorders (15 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

n) Co-Occurring Disorders and Addiction (15 hours) 

Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

DCA BBS 37A-661B (Revised 10/2024) Page 5 of 6 State of California 



      

             

 

  

  
  

  

 
  

   
 

 
  

 
 

  
  

     
   

  
   

 
  
 

 
  

 
 
 
 

 

 

  
  

 

 

 

 

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

8. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK (continued) 

o) Miscellaneous Content (see Guide to LMFT Out-of-State Requirements) 
Course Title(s): 

Provider(s): 

BACKGROUND INFORMATION – RESPONSE IS VOLUNTARY 
Some criminal convictions will appear on the Board's background check and may require additional 
investigation prior to a licensing determination. For information on which convictions the Board is 
permitted to consider, see the Criminal Conviction FAQ. All currently pending criminal actions will 
appear on the Board’s background check and may require additional investigation prior to a 
licensing determination. 

You are not required to disclose any past convictions or pending criminal cases on this application. 
In some cases, voluntarily providing information with the application about convictions that the 
Board is permitted to consider may help an application get processed more quickly. You may 
therefore choose to complete the Background Statement form and submit it with your application 
along with evidence of rehabilitation. The form is available on the Board's website, and includes 
areas to report convictions the board is permitted to consider, or pending criminal actions. 

You can also submit the Background Statement form and evidence of rehabilitation after you submit 
your application or in response to inquiries from the Board. You may seek legal assistance from a 
lawyer or legal aid organization before providing any information about your criminal history. The 
Board will not deny your application because you exercised your right not to provide criminal history 
information in your initial application. 

NOTE:  Knowingly making a false statement of fact that is required to be revealed in this 
application may be grounds for denial of this application 

Signature of Applicant:  ______________________________________  Date:  ____________ 

DCA BBS 37A-661B (Revised 10/2024) Page 6 of 6 State of California 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA – BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor 

Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

(916) 574-7830 
www.bbs.ca.gov 

VERIFICATION OF LICENSE OR REGISTRATION 
IN ANOTHER STATE OR COUNTRY 

PART 1. APPLICANT: If you hold or have held a license or registration in another state or country, or 
if you are submitting supervised experience gained in another state or country, and that state or 
country does NOT have a public online license lookup that contains information on disciplinary 
actions, this form must be completed. Complete Part 1 and mail this form and any necessary fees to 
that licensing agency. 

Verification For: Applicant Applicant’s Supervisor 
Name of California Applicant: 

Last First Middle Date of Birth 

Name of Individual to be Verified: 
Last First Middle License Number 

I hereby authorize the release of my information to the California Board of Behavioral Sciences. 

Signature of individual to be verified:  _________________________________ Date:___________ 

PART 2. LICENSING AGENCY: 
Please return completed form to the above mailing address or email to BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov 

1. Full name as shown in your records: ________________________________________________ 

2.  License or Registration Title: _____________________________________________________ 

3.  License or Registration Status:  ____________________________________________________ 

Issue Date: _____________ Expiration Date: _____________ 

4. Any disciplinary action?   No Yes  (If YES, attach an explanation) 

Signature of Person Completing Form 

Printed Name and Title 

State Board or Licensing Agency Name 

Date 

State Board/Licensing Agency 
Stamp Here 

State Phone Number 

DCA BBS 37A-306 (Revised 06/2023) 

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/
mailto:BBSLicCerts@dca.ca.gov


     

       
 

 
  

 
 

 
  

  
   

 
       

     
    

  

  

   

   

    

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
 

  
 

 
   

    

    
 

           

 
 

 
 

  
  

 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA – BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor 

Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

(916) 574-7830 
www.bbs.ca.gov 

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST 

EXPERIENCE VERIFICATION 
OUT-OF-STATE OR OUT-OF-COUNTRY EXPERIENCE 

This form must be completed by your out-of-state or out-of-country supervisor and submitted with 
your Application for Licensure – Path B. See the Application for Licensure (access at 
www.bbs.ca.gov> Applicant>LMFT>Forms/Pubs) for experience and supervisor requirements. 
All information on this form is subject to verification. Be sure to: 

The hours • Use separate forms for pre-degree and post-degree experience. reported on this 
form were earned • Use separate forms for each supervisor and each employer. 
as (mark one): 

• Ensure that the form is complete and correct prior to signing.  Pre-Degree 
 Post-Degree 

• Have your supervisor initial any changes. 

APPLICANT NAME: 
Last First Middle Associate No.* 

AMF 
*If you have one 

SUPERVISOR INFORMATION: 
Supervisor’s Name Telephone Email Address 

License Type License Number State Date First Licensed 

• Physicians: Were you certified in Psychiatry by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology 
during the entire period of supervision? 

No Yes: Date Board Certified:  ___________ Certification Number:  _________________ 

DCA BBS 37A-304 (Revised 08/2023) 1 of 2 

https://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/forms/mft/mftapp_oos_path_b.pdf
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Applicant: Last First Middle 

APPLICANT’S EMPLOYER INFORMATION: 
Name of Applicant’s Employer Telephone 

Address: Number and Street City State Zip Code 

EXPERIENCE INFORMATION: 

1. Dates of experience: From: __________________ 
mm/dd/yyyy 

To: _____________________ 
mm/dd/yyyy 

2. Total weeks (Minimum 104 overall) __________ 

3. Hours of Experience: Total Hours 

a. Total Direct Counseling Experience  (Minimum 1,750 hours) 

• Of the above hours, how many were gained diagnosing and treating 
Couples, Families and Children? (Minimum 500 of the 1,750 hours) 

b. Total Non-Clinical Experience (Maximum 1,250 hours) 

NOTE:  Knowingly providing false information or omitting pertinent information may be grounds 
for denial of the application. All information on this form is subject to verification. 

I hereby certify that the applicant gained the experience hours in compliance with the 
requirements of the state or country in which they were earned. 

Signature of Supervisor: _______________________________________ Date: _____________ 
ORIGINAL, SCANNED OR ELECTRONIC SIGNATURE REQUIRED 

DCA BBS 37A-304 (Revised 08/2023) 2 of 2 



  

       
 

 
  

 
 

 

  

  

 
 
 

  

   
      

 
   

 
 

 
         

    
 

     
     

 
   

 
   

 
 
 

  
 

     
 

         
 

  
  

 
      

  
   

 
  

 
 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA – BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor 

Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

Telephone: (916) 574-7830 
www.bbs.ca.gov 

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST 

OUT-OF-STATE DEGREE PROGRAM CERTIFICATION 

This form is for use by applicants with an Out-of-State Degree 

 INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANT 

The purpose of this form is for your school to verify the specifics of a degree program from a school 
located outside of California, or from an online program that is not designed to meet California’s 
requirements. It may also be used to verify completion of additional coursework required prior to 
licensure. The Board may require additional information to verify course content, such as course 
syllabi. Note:  This form is not required for applicants with a degree earned outside of the United 
States or its territories. 

• This form must be provided with your application in an envelope that has been sealed by your 
school OR sent by your school directly to the Board via email. 

• Unless otherwise indicated on this form, your degree must fully contain all of the requirements 
specified herein to qualify for registration or licensure. There are no exceptions. 

• Please note that you may be required to complete additional coursework prior to licensure. 

• The Board recommends obtaining a copy of this completed form and reviewing it prior to 
applying so that you can determine whether your degree qualifies. 

 INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHOOL 

The applicant is applying for a registration or license with the Board of Behavioral Sciences. Please 
complete this form including the certification on the last page and provide the applicant with the 
original IN A SEALED ENVELOPE or send directly to the Board at BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov. 

If any transferred-in units were accepted, attach a letter of explanation identifying those 
courses and describing how they were applied to the student’s program. 

The full legal text of the degree requirements is located in Business and Professions Code (BPC) 
section 4980.78, which also contains references to BPC sections 4980.36.and 4980.37. These code 
sections are also available on the Board’s website under Statutes and Regulations. 

DCA BBS 37A-600 (Revised 10/2024) 

http://www.bbs.ca.gov/
mailto:BBStranscripts@dca.ca.gov
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4980.78.&lawCode=BPC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4980.36.&lawCode=BPC
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=4980.37.&lawCode=BPC
http://www.bbs.ca.gov/pdf/publications/lawsregs.pdf


     

 

 

 

 
 

  

  
 

     

    

 

                
     

 

  
     

 
 

   
 

  
 

  

 

 
 

   
   

   

   
     

  
 

 

  
  

 

   
    

 

 
 

______________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________ 

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPIST 

OUT-OF-STATE DEGREE PROGRAM CERTIFICATION 

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

SSN or Individual Taxpayer ID Number: Date Began Graduate Study mm/dd/yyyy 

1. Number of units in degree: __________ Semester units Quarter Units 
Minimum 48 semester units or 72 quarter units required to qualify. 

2. Yes  The degree program contained no less than six (6) semester or nine (9) quarter units of 
supervised practicum, AND 225 hours of experience that included the following: No 
• At least 150 hours providing face-to-face counseling to individuals, couples, families 

or groups AND 

• At least 75 additional hours providing either face-to-face counseling AND/OR client-
centered advocacy* 

Number of units: _______  Number of counseling hours: _______ 

Number of client-centered advocacy hours: _____  Course numbers:  ______________ 

*Client-centered advocacy may include, but is not limited to, researching, identifying, and 
accessing resources, or other activities, related to obtaining or providing services and supports 
for clients or groups of clients receiving psychotherapy or counseling services 

3. Yes The degree program included no less than 12 semester or 18 quarter units of 
coursework in the areas of marriage, family, and child counseling and marital and family No 
systems approaches to treatment, including all of the following: 

• Theories, principles, and methods of a variety of psychotherapeutic orientations 
directly related to marriage and family therapy, and marital and family systems 
approaches to treatment. 

• How these theories can be applied therapeutically with couples, families, adults, 
elder adults, children, adolescents and groups to improve, restore, or maintain 
healthy relationships. 

Number of units: ____  Course numbers:  _________________________________ 

DCA BBS 37A-600 (Revised 10/2024) 1 of 5 State of California 



     

 

     

 
  

 
      

  

      
      

     
 

 

        
 

   

         
 

   

          
     

  
 

    

 

        

 

    

 

         

 

   

        

    

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

4. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK REQUIRED PRIOR TO LICENSURE: The following courses are 
NOT required to be part of the applicant’s degree program but are required for licensure as 
described in BPC sections 4980.78 and 4980.81. Completion of this section will assist the applicant 
in the licensure process. 

Mark “Yes” if the applicant’s degree program contained any of the specified content, and list the 
number of units or hours and course numbers. If the applicant completed some, but not all of the 
content listed, you may mark “Yes” but please indicate the missing content on the last page under 
“Notes”. 

A. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in the provision of mental health services 
via telehealth, including law and ethics related to telehealth? 

Number of Units or Hours: ______ 

B. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in suicide risk assessment and 
intervention? 

Number of Units or Hours: ______ 

C. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in the diagnosis, assessment, prognosis, 
treatment planning, and treatment of mental disorders including severe mental 
disorders, evidence-based practices, and/or promising mental health practices that 
are evaluated in peer reviewed literature? 

Number of Units or Hours: ______  Course Numbers: _______________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

D. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework regarding the principles of mental health 
recovery-oriented care and methods of service delivery in recovery oriented 
practice environments? 

Number of Units or Hours: ______  Course Numbers: _______________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

E. Yes No Did the applicant’s degree program include structured meetings with various 
consumers and family members of consumers of mental health services to 
enhance understanding of their experience of mental illness, treatment, and 
recovery? 

Number of Units or Hours: ______  Course Number(s): ______________________ 

F. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in psychological testing? 

Number of Units or Hours: ______  Course Number(s): ______________________ 

DCA BBS 37A-600 (Revised 10/2024) 2 of 5 State of California 
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Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

4. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK REQUIRED PRIOR TO LICENSURE (continued) 
Mark “Yes” if the applicant’s degree program contained any of the specified content, and list the 
number of units or hours and course numbers. If the applicant completed some, but not all of the 
content listed, you may mark “Yes” but please indicate the missing content on the last page under 
“Notes”. 

G. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in psychopharmacology? 

Number of Units or Hours: ______  Course Number(s): ______________________ 

H. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in developmental issues from infancy to old 
age, including the effects of developmental issues on individuals, couples and 
family relationships; the psychological, psychotherapeutic and health implications of 
developmental issues and their effects; and the understanding of the impact that 
personal and social insecurity, social stress, low educational levels, inadequate 
housing and malnutrition have on human development? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Numbers: _______________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

I. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in the assessment and reporting of, as well 
as treatment related to, elder and dependent adult abuse and neglect; aging and 
biological, social, cognitive, and psychological aspects; long-term care, and end-of-
life and grief, including psychotherapeutic, community, and health implications? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Number(s): _______________________ 

J. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in spousal or partner abuse assessment, 
detection, intervention strategies, and same-gender abuse dynamics including its 
psychological, psychotherapeutic, community, and health implications? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Number(s): _______________________ 

K. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework regarding cultural factors relevant to abuse 
or partners and family members, including its psychological, psychotherapeutic, 
community, and health implications? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Number(s): _______________________ 

L. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework regarding childbirth, child rearing, parenting, 
stepparenting, marriage, divorce, and blended families, including psychological, 
psychotherapeutic, community, and health implications? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Number(s): _______________________ 

DCA BBS 37A-600 (Revised 10/2024) 3 of 5 State of California 



     

 

     

 
  

   
    

    
 

 
          

 
 

     

         
 

     

         
 

 

     

         
 

  
 

     

      
 
 

     

        
 

     

  

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

4. ADDITIONAL COURSEWORK REQUIRED PRIOR TO LICENSURE (continued) 
Mark “Yes” if the applicant’s degree program contained any of the specified content, and list the 
number of units or hours and course numbers. If the applicant completed some, but not all of the 
content listed, you may mark “Yes” but please indicate the missing content on the last page under 
“Notes”. 

M. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework regarding poverty and deprivation and 
financial and social stress, including psychological, psychotherapeutic, community, 
and health implications? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Number(s): _______________________ 

N. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework regarding the effects of trauma, including 
psychological, psychotherapeutic, community, and health implications? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Number(s): _______________________ 

O. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework multicultural development and cross-cultural 
interaction, including experiences of race, ethnicity, class, spirituality, sexual 
orientation, gender, and disability, and their incorporation into the 
psychotherapeutic process? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Number(s): _______________________ 

P. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in human sexuality including the study of 
physiological, psychological, and social cultural variables associated with sexual 
behavior and gender identity, and the assessment and treatment of psychosexual 
dysfunction? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Number(s): _______________________ 

Q. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in substance use disorders and co-
occurring disorders and addiction (with co-occurring disorders defined as “a mental 
illness and substance abuse diagnosis occurring simultaneously in an individual”)? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Number(s): _______________________ 

R. Yes No Did the applicant complete coursework in law and professional ethics for marriage 
and family therapists? 

Number of Units or Hours: _____  Course Number(s): _______________________ 

DCA BBS 37A-600 (Revised 10/2024) 4 of 5 State of California 



     

 

     

 
 

 

 

 
 

 
 
   

   
 

  

   

   

   
 
 

 

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

Notes: 

CERTIFICATION 
I hereby certify that all of the foregoing is true and correct 

Signature of Chief Academic Officer or Name of Institution 
Authorized Designee 

Print Name Campus City and State 

Date Signed Institution Accredited or Approved by 

Email Address 

DCA BBS 37A-600 (Revised 10/2024) 5 of 5 State of California 



     

 
   

 

 

 
 

       
  

 
  

    

     

 
 

        
  

   
 

   
 

   
 

   
  

 
 
 

   
 

       
      

      
  

 
       

     

      
    

  

 
   

 
         

  

MARRIAGE AND 
AND FAMILY THERAPIST 

OUT-OF-COUNTRY DEGREE PROGRAM WORKSHEET 

This OPTIONAL form is for use by applicants with a degree earned outside the United 
States or its territories 

Type or print clearly in ink 
Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

SSN or Individual Taxpayer ID Number Date Began Graduate Study Degree Award Date 

The purpose of this optional form is to help determine whether a degree earned outside the United 
States or its territories may meet California’s minimum requirements. Please complete it to the best of 
your ability. If your degree does not meet all of the minimum requirements listed below and on 
the next page, a new degree will be required in order to qualify in California. 

 IMPORTANT:  If your degree DOES meet the minimum requirements, you will need to take 
additional courses to meet all of California’s educational requirements (see Application 
Instructions for details). 

Please note that a degree evaluation by a foreign credential evaluation service that is a member of 
www.naces.org is required as described in the Application Instructions. 

DEGREE UNITS REQUIRED 

 Applicants who began graduate study BEFORE August 1, 2012 AND were awarded their 
degree ON OR BEFORE December 31, 2018: 
 A minimum of 48 semester units or 72 quarter units is required within your degree program or 

your degree will not qualify. 

 Applicants who began graduate study ON OR AFTER August 1, 2012 OR were awarded their 
degree AFTER December 31, 2018: 
 Your degree must contain a minimum of 48 semester units or 72 quarter units to qualify. 

However, if your degree contains LESS than 60 semester units or 90 quarter units, you must 
complete graduate level coursework to bring your total to 60 semester units or 90 quarter units 
(a maximum of 12 semester units or 18 quarter units of instruction may be remediated). 
Units can be gained while registered as an Associate, but must be remediated before the Board 
can approve your Application for Licensure. 

Number of units within my degree program:  ________ Semester units  Quarter Units  

DCA BBS 37A-601 (Revised 10/2024) 1 of 2 
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__________________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________ 

_______________________________________________________________ 

Applicant Name: Last First Middle 

PRACTICUM UNITS AND HOURS REQUIRED 

Yes No 
If No, your 
degree does not 
qualify 

Exception: If you 
hold an LMFT 
license at the 
highest level for 
independent 
clinical practice 
that is valid and in 
good standing in 
another country 
the practicum 
requirements 
may be waived. 

My degree program contained no less than six (6) semester or nine (9) quarter units 
of supervised practicum, AND 225 hours of experience that included the following: 

• At least 150 hours providing face-to-face counseling to individuals, couples, 
families or groups AND 

• At least 75 additional hours providing either face-to-face counseling and/or 
client-centered advocacy (CCA). CCA includes, but is not limited to, 
researching, identifying, and accessing resources, or other activities, related 
to obtaining or providing services and supports for clients or groups of 
clients receiving psychotherapy or counseling services. 

Number of units: _____   Number of counseling experience hours: _____ 

Number of client-centered advocacy hours: _____ 

Course number(s)/Term(s):  ___________________________________________ 

MARITAL AND FAMILY THERAPY COURSEWORK REQUIRED 

Yes No 
If No, your 
degree does not 
qualify 

My degree program included no less than 12 semester or 18 quarter units of 
coursework in the areas of marriage, family, and child counseling and marital and 
family systems approaches to treatment, including all of the following: 

• Theories, principles, and methods of a variety of psychotherapeutic 
orientations directly related to marriage and family therapy, and marital and 
family systems approaches to treatment. 

• How these theories can be applied therapeutically with couples, families, 
adults, elder adults, children, adolescents and groups to improve, restore, or 
maintain healthy relationships. 

Number of units: ____  Course number(s)/Term(s):  _____________________ 

I certify that all of the information on this form is true and correct to the best of my ability. 

Applicant Signature Name of School 

Date Signed 

DCA BBS 37A-601 (Revised 10/2024) 2 of 2 



   

       

 
 

  
 

 

 

 
 

 
 

  
 

 

 

  
 

  

  
 

  

 

 

  
   

 
 

 

   
  

 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA - BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES, ANDHOUSING AGENCY Gavin Newsom, Governor 

Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd., Suite S200, Sacramento, CA 95834 

Telephone: (916) 574-7830 
www.bbs.ca.gov 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR LIVE SCAN FINGERPRINTING 

AND PRIVACY NOTICES 

Live Scan Fingerprinting is available only in California. Live Scan fingerprint results will be 
submitted to the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation 
(FBI) electronically. 

If you need to have your fingerprints taken in another state, you must use the "hard card" 
fingerprint method. To request hard cards and instructions, send an email to 
BBS.Fingerprint@dca.ca.gov with "Fingerprint Hard Cards" in the subject line, and include 
your mailing address. Please be advised that the DOJ processing time for hard card 
fingerprints is a minimum of 8 to 12 weeks, or longer. In order to avoid processing delays 
and additional costs that result from invalid fingerprint cards, fingerprints must be taken at a 
law enforcement agency in the state of residence. 

Fingerprint Fees - Paid to Live Scan Site 
If you have your prints taken via Live Scan, you must pay the fingerprint fees below 
directly to the site where you have your Live Scan fingerprints taken: 

DOJ FINGERPRINT PROCESSING FEE: $32.00 
FBI FINGERPRINT PROCESSING FEE: $17.00 

In addition to these processing fees, there may be a service charge associated with 
the Live Scan site you visit. The Live Scan service site will collect the above fees at the 
time you are fingerprinted. The Live Scan service charge may vary from location to 
location. 

Complete the Request for Live Scan Service Form 

You must complete and submit the attached Request for Live Scan Service form at the 
Live Scan site. Make sure that the information provided in Section 3 of the form matches 
the information on your BBS application. Once your fingerprints have been scanned, the 
Live Scan Operator will complete Section 4 of this form and return the second and third 
copies to you. 

The second copy of this form, with Section 4 completed by the Live Scan Operator, 
must be MAILED to the BBS in order to retrieve your fingerprint results from the DOJ. 
Retain the third copy for your records as a proof of payment. 

37A-648 (Revised 06/2020) 1 
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Live Scan Fingerprint Locations 

You must visit an approved Live Scan Service Site. Most local Police and Sheriff 
Departments offer the Live Scan fingerprinting service. Some large school districts, 
passport services, and stores with generalized fingerprinting expertise may also offer Live 
Scan. A current listing of Live Scan sites is available on the DOJ website at 
https://oag.ca.gov/fingerprints/locations. 

Consider calling the Live Scan service provider for hours of operation, fees, and 
appointment times if necessary. You must present valid photo identification (i.e., driver’s 
license, military ID, or passport) at the Live Scan site. 

Filling Out Your Live Scan Form 
To facilitate prompt and accurate processing, please TYPE or print legibly in ink. 

SECTION 1: Type of Application:  LIC/CERT/PERMIT 

Check the box for the applicable registration or license you are applying for with the BBS. 
Even if you are applying for more than one registration or license type, CHECK THE BOX 
FOR ONLY ONE LICENSE TYPE. Your fingerprint results will be put towards ALL 
registrations and licenses you hold. You do not need to pay or be fingerprinted for each 
individual BBS license type. 

SECTION 2: This section is already completed. 

SECTION 3: 

Name of Applicant: Enter your full name 

Alias: Indicate all other names used 

Date of Birth: Indicate your month/day/year of birth 

Sex: Mark the appropriate box 

Height: Indicate your height in feet and inches 

Weight: Indicate your weight in pounds (lbs.) 

Eye Color: Indicate eye color abbreviation: 
BLK - Black GRY - Gray MAR - Maroon BLU - Blue GRN - Green 
PNK – Pink BRO - Brown HAZ - Hazel MUL - Multicolor 

Hair Color: Indicate hair color abbreviation: 
BAL - Bald BRO - Brown SDY - Sandy BLK - Black 
GRY - Gray WHI - White BLN - Blonde RED - Red 

37A-648 (Revised 06/2020) 2 
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Place of Birth: Indicate the state or country of birth 

Social Security Enter your SSN or individual taxpayer ID number. Must match the 
Number: number provided on your application. 

Driver’s License Enter your Driver’s license number if you have one. 
No: 

Address: Enter a mailing address of your choice. You may use a business 
address, your home address, or any current address. This 
address will not be viewable by the public, and will be used 
solely for the BBS’ records. 

Your BBS File number: 
Enter your BBS file number. If you are a brand new applicant and do not currently hold an 
identifying number, leave this line blank. 

If Resubmission, list Original ATI No. 
This is only used for a second fingerprinting due to a prior fingerprint rejection. The ATI No. 
allows you to be re-fingerprinted without paying the DOJ and FBI processing fee (service 
charges may still apply.) 

Applicant Signature 
Sign and date the application to indicate that you have read the included Privacy Notice, 
Privacy Act Statement and Applicant’s Privacy Rights. 

SECTION 4: 
To be completed by the Live Scan operator. 

37A-648 (Revised 06/2020) 3 



  

 
 

  
 

 
  

 
  

    
 

   
 

  
 

 
 

 

 
 

    

 
 

  

 

  
 

 

  
 

   
 

REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE 

Privacy Notice 
As Required by Civil Code § 1798.17 

Collection and Use of Personal Information. The California Justice Information Services 
(CJIS) Division in the Department of Justice (DOJ) collects the information requested on this 
form as authorized by Business and Professions Code sections 4600-4621, 7574-7574.16, 
26050-26059, 11340-11346, and 22440-22449; Penal Code sections 11100-11112, and 
11077.1; Health and Safety Code sections 1522, 1416.20-1416.50, 1569.10-1569.24, 1596.80-
1596.879, 1725-1742, and 18050-18055; Family Code sections 8700-87200, 8800-8823, and 
8900-8925; Financial Code sections 1300-1301, 22100-22112, 17200-17215, and 28122-
28124; Education Code sections 44330-44355; Welfare and Institutions Code sections 9710-
9719.5, 14043-14045, 4684-4689.8, and 16500-16523.1; and other various state statutes and 
regulations. The CJIS Division uses this information to process requests of authorized entities 
that want to obtain information as to the existence and content of a record of state or federal 
convictions to help determine suitability for employment, or volunteer work with children, elderly, 
or disabled; or for adoption or purposes of a license, certification, or permit. In addition, any 
personal information collected by state agencies is subject to the limitations in the Information 
Practices Act and state policy. The DOJ's general privacy policy is available at 
http://oag.ca.gov/privacy-policy. 

Providing Personal Information. All the personal information requested in the form must be 
provided. Failure to provide all the necessary information will result in delays and/or the 
rejection of your request. 

Access to Your Information. You may review the records maintained by the CJIS Division in 
the DOJ that contain your personal information, as permitted by the Information Practices Act. 
See below for contact information. 

Possible Disclosure of Personal Information. In order to process applications pertaining to 
Live Scan service to help determine the suitability of a person applying for a license, 
employment, or a volunteer position working with children, the elderly, or the disabled, we may 
need to share the information you give us with authorized applicant agencies. The information 
you provide may also be disclosed in the following circumstances: 

• With other persons or agencies where necessary to perform their legal duties, and their 
use of your information is compatible and complies with state law, such as for 
investigations or for licensing, certification, or regulatory purposes. 

• To another government agency as required by state or federal law. 

Contact Information. For questions about this notice or access to your records, you may 
contact the Associate Governmental Program Analyst at the DOJ's Keeper of Records at (916) 
210-3310, by email at keeperofrecords@doj.ca.gov, or by mail at: Department of Justice Bureau 
of Criminal Information & Analysis Keeper of Records P.O. Box 903417 Sacramento, CA 
94203-4170. 

http://oag.ca.gov/privacy-policy
mailto:keeperofrecords@doj.ca.gov
https://1569.10-1569.24
https://1416.20-1416.50
https://7574-7574.16


  

 

 
 

  
 

  

 
 

 
 

 
 

  

  
 

 
 

 
  

 
  

  
 

REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE 

Privacy Act Statement 

Authority. The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated 
information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your 
application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 
92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your fingerprints and 
associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval 
of your application. 

Principal Purpose. Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security 
clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and 
associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise 
responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other 
fingerprints in the FBI's Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems 
(including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the 
employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints 
and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while 
retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to 
or retained by NGI. 

Routine Uses. During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your 
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be 
disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by 
the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the 
Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI's Blanket Routine 
Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: employing, governmental, or 
authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, licensing, 
security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law 
enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security 
or public safety. 



  

  

  
  

 

  

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 

  
  

  
 

 
  

 
  

  
  

        
   
            

   
            

REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE 

Noncriminal Justice Applicant's Privacy Rights 

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for a 
noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for employment or a license, an immigration or 
naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed 
below. 

• You must be provided written notification1 that your fingerprints will be used to check the 
criminal history records of the FBI. 

• You must be provided, and acknowledge receipt of, an adequate Privacy Act Statement 
when you submit your fingerprints and associated personal information. This Privacy Act 
Statement should explain the authority for collecting your information and how your 
information will be used, retained, and shared.2 

• If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your suitability for 
the employment, license, or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to complete or 
challenge the accuracy of the information in the record. 

• The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or 
update of your criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations 
(CFR), Section 16.34. 

• If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time to 
correct or complete the record (or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the 
employment, license, or other benefit based on information in the criminal history record.3 

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record check 
will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of federal 
statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the National 
Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.4 

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal history record 
for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to provide you a copy of the 
record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. 
Information regarding this process may be obtained at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-
history-summary-checks 

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record, you 
should send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to the FBI. 
Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI. The FBI will then forward your 
challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information and request the agency to verify 
or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication from that agency, the FBI 
will make any necessary changes/corrections to your record in accordance with the information 
supplied by that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.) You can find additional information on 
the FBI website at https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks 

1 Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification 
2 https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement 
3 See 28 CFR 50.12(b) 4 See U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. § 
14616), Article IV(c) 

4 See U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. § 14616), Article IV(c) 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement


 
  

  
 

 

 

   

  

   

  

 
 

 
 

 
 

   

 
   

 
  

    
  

     

     

   

  

  

  

 
                  

 

  

 
 

 
 

            
   

 
 

  

 
 

            

   

         

 
  

      
  

         

State of California 
REQUEST FOR LIVE SCAN SERVICE APPLICANT 
BCII 8016 (04/2020) 
Applicant Submission 

SECTION 1 

ORI:  A0462 
(Code assigned by DOJ) 

Type of License: (Mark Only ONE) 

 Marriage and Family Therapist 

 Educational Psychologist 

Type of Application: LIC/CERT/PERMIT 

 Clinical Social Worker 

 Professional Clinical Counselor 
SECTION 2 
Agency Authorized to Receive Criminal Record 
Information: 
Board of Behavioral Sciences 
1625 North Market Blvd. Suite S-200 
Sacramento CA 95834 

Mail Code: 01484 

Contact Name:  Fingerprint Unit 
Contact Phone: (916) 574-7859 

SECTION 3 
Name of Applicant: ______________________________ 
(Please Print) Last 

Alias: _________________________________________ 
Last First 

Date of Birth: ____________  Sex:  Male   Female 

Height: ________________   Weight: _______________ 

Eye Color: _____________  Hair Color: ____________ 

Place of Birth: __________________________________ 

Social Security Number: __________________________ 

_____________________________  ______ 
First MI 

Driver’s License No.: ____________________ 

Billing No.: APPLICANT MUST PAY 

Address: 
______________________________________ 
Number and Street 
________________________  ____  ________ 
City State Zip 

BBS File Number: __________________________ 

If Resubmission, list Original ATI No.: 
_________________________________________ 
(Must provide proof of rejection) 

BBS Applicant:  Please mail a copy of this 
form to the address in Section 2 with your
BBS application. 

Level of Service:  DOJ  FBI 

I have received and read the included Privacy Notice, Privacy Act Statement and Applicant’s Privacy Rights. 

Applicant Signature: _____________________________________ Date: __________ 

SECTION 4 
Live Scan Transaction Completed By: ____________________________________  Date: _____________ 
Transmitting Agency: ___________________________________________ LSID: __________________ 
ATI No.: _________________________   Amount Collected/Billed: _______________________________ 

ORIGINAL – Live Scan Operator SECOND COPY – Requesting Agency THIRD COPY - Applicant 
37A-649 (Revised 06/2020) 
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