Display All

Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor

Information for Associate Professional Clinical Counselor (APCC) and
Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC) applicants.

  • 6-year Life Span
    • Registrations issued by the Board are valid for a 6-year period (five renewals)
    • Registrants who have not attained licensure with the 6-year life span, must apply for a subsequent registration number, to continue the path toward licensure
    • Many registrants apply for a second (or third, etc.) registration number to gain additional supervised work experience or for employment purposes
  • Private Practice Settings
    • Registrants cannot work in a private practice setting with a subsequent registration number.
  • Examination Requirements
    • Applicants must PASS the California Law and Ethics Exam before a subsequent registration can be issued.
  • APCC Subsequent Registration Application

The list below identifies California schools with LPCC Programs which have been evaluated by the Board. These programs meet the LPCC licensure requirements, pursuant to California Business and Professions Code (BPC) §4999.33, for students who began graduate studies on or after August 1, 2012. The Board does not publish a list of schools with LPCC programs, which are based outside of California, online or otherwise.

Since Schools occasionally change program curriculum and course descriptions, the list below may not reflect these changes. Please contact the school directly to ensure that the degree program meets the educational requirements for licensure. Ultimately, it is the responsibility of the applicant to comply with all requirements for registration and licensure.